Interview with Author Adrienne Wilder

f7f5b16059230a82390ba0.L._V340258948_SY470_

Author Adrienne Wilder is nothing short of what she is: a great writer. Best known for Seven and her series My Brother’s Keeper, she continues to write new novels. Whatever the next book will be, her readers will be excited to see it hit shelves.

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

Nothing really got me interested. I was writing urban fantasy in a world where m/m pairings were normal. I had no idea that m/m existed as a genre so I was always very vague about the male couples. When I figured out that it was “ok” to write male couples I was ecstatic and changed my focus to the part of the world I’d been hiding.  After that, other stories I had that were dead in the water came to life when I turned the relationships into m/m.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

I began by writing a book.  Seriously. That’s all.  And honestly I had no idea that I had a humongous fan base. I’m not complaining mind you.  Just in awe of the idea. 

What is it like to design covers for other writers?

Easier than doing my own because all I have to do is follow their directions or use their ideas.  Hahahaha

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

I’m not sure I understand the question.  But if you mean what I think, my answer is simple.  The important people in my life know and the rest don’t matter.  And the important people in my life would never be ashamed or judgmental of something so trivial.  

How does Olympic lifting help with your stress relief? Does it influence your writing in any way?

Oy what a question. Hahaha   Lifting gives me an outlet.  It allows me to take frustration or barriers and turn them into a physical object that, with training, I can eventually overcome.  I don’t think lifting influences my writing, as much as it gives me a reference as to what I can accomplish.  And if I can pull 280 off the ground, back squat 235, or leg press 800lbs, then beating out a story on a key board should be easy.  

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m? 

I think I read somewhere once that women read more than men to begin with.  So maybe women don’t love to read m/m as much as they just love to read in general.  

What is it like to create an interesting character like Seven? Are his interactions with Chase Sarim a good indication of his character?  

I wish I could answer that question because I’m not sure how or why I get the characters that I do.  Most of the time they are just there.  I tweak them sure but almost all just happen.  And yes, I would hope his interactions with Chase would be a very good indication of character.  

What are you currently working?

About four different books, including Thirteen and Four.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

I don’t think I have a process and I’m envious of people who do. I simply write. Rewrite. Then rewrite again.  After about three to four rounds of outside edits I give one more proofread and force myself to let it go.  No ms is perfect. And every mistake is a shortcut in the learning process.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

Depends on the book. None of them are every the same. I’ve written 150 k books in as little as a month and 60k stories over a period of six months.  

What was it like creating Marshall Jon Foster’s tragic background? Would his relationship with Ellis Harper be different if they did not have that connection with their brothers?

Like I said. I don’t consciously set out to create a character. They just happen. Jon Foster was a near instant figure in my head the day my friend told me about how her husband, a Vietnam vet, would wake up at night and “step over the bodies.”

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

My advice is (for anyone), never write a “genre”, write what you love. Genres are what you use to classify a story to find an audience, and to think of any story as a genre will create barriers and “rules” in your head that could interfere with what you are trying to create. Worry about where to catalog the story when it’s done. Until then, it’s just a story you have to tell.

18484698

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

    

Leave a Reply

