Interview with Author Nyrae Dawn

another bio pic

Nyrae Dawn is a great writer best known for her novels Charade and What a Boy Wants. Her ability to convey emotional situations keeps the pages flying.

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

For me it all comes down to love. I love reading and writing romance in all it’s forms. I’ve been reading m/m for years, and always knew I would write it as well. LGBT rights and equality is something that I am very passionate about.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

I don’t know that my fan base is humongous (it’s a nice thought though!). I’ve been doing this a lot time though. I’ve been writing for about nine years. I did the typical write books, and submit to agent thing. I had two agents before deciding to self publish. Now I have my third agent who I work well with and I both traditionally and self publish.

You write under a pseudonym. Why?

I’m not sure. I really love the name. Nyrae is my middle name. I write under my real name as well though.

What draws you to writing and reading stories that center around characters in their 20s?

I think it’s a fun age. You have a little more freedom but so many things are new as well. I love people who are sort of trying to find their place in the world.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

You know, I just look at it like, I can’t control how people feel about it. They are supportive or not. I’m proud of what I do.

What was it like to write the dynamic between Cheyenne and Colt in Charade?

The concept of pretending as a base of their relationship is interesting. They had great banter. They are both strong people who say what’s on their mind so that made writing them interesting.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

Different reasons. I think part of it is because they think it’s sexier. Also, there’s something really beautiful about watching two men fall in love, and I think most of us are romantics a heart. At least I am.

How did you manage to make Sebastian Hawkins’ online adventures as The Hook-up Doctor believable?

I had a lot of fun with that book. I just did the best I could to try and figure out how a guy would think. Most of my friends have always been men and in a lot of ways, I feel like I relate to them. I am more comfortable meeting a guy for the first time than a woman.

What are you currently working?

I have a couple projects going. One is a gay YA book, the other is a m/f YA and I have a little bit of another NA going as well.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

I don’t typically rewrite a ton. I have when my editors have come back saying a book needs it though. I consider myself a character writer. I always know my people very well. I know where the book starts and where I need to get them. From there, I just write. When I get a quarter or a third of the way through I plot out a few chapters at a time, write, then plot out more until I finish the book.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

Depends. I’ve written one as fast as a three weeks and I’ve had others take me five months.

What is it like to have a gay YA novel in the works? Do you think it will be well-received?

It’s just like when I have any other novel in the works. I’m both excited and nervous. I hope it’s well-recieved.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

Write from the heart. Be true to yourself and your characters. Some people will be supportive, some won’t. As for an audience, writing from the heart helps. Have a social media presence, and be authentic.

CharadeMock

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

    

Leave a Reply

