Interview with Author Stormy Glenn

2152471

Stormy Glenn is best known for her novels Full Moon Mating and The Cat’s Meow, which is currently undergoing some edits before entering the market again. Her upcoming novels are expected to be devoured by her readers, like her other novels. No matter what she comes out with next, it will keep the pages turning!

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?
Actually, Carol Lynne did. I started out writing mainstream romance. After reading some of her books, I became fascinated by the possibilities, and things just kind of went from there.

How did you begin your career?
I’ve written stories for years. It wasn’t until—again—Carol Lynne that I decided to actually submit something. My very supportive husband went to working six days a week while I took six months off and put all of my time and energy into writing. It worked…LOL

How did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?
Yeah, I have no idea. I still can’t figure out why anyone would be interested in the crazy stuff that goes on in my head. But I will say this. The readers can make or break a writer. Without them, we are just wasting our time putting words to paper. Treat them right and they will treat you right.

You write under a pseudonym. Why?
When I started my career, I had underage children at home. While I believe it is insane, not everyone agrees with what I do. There are a lot of people in the world filled with hatred. I had to keep my children safe from that so I write under a pseudonym.

What is it like to work within many subgenres within romance? Do you have a favorite to write within?
I’m not sure this is even something I think about a whole lot. I just write the stories as they come to me. I don’t think about subgenres. I remember right after I started writing, someone had to tell me I was writing in a subgenre. I had no idea. Paranormal is my all time favorite world because there are no rules!!!

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?
I am very proud of what I do. I tell everyone. If they don’ like it, don’t read the books.

How has living in the Northwest region of the US influenced your writing?
I’ve lived in the Pacific Northwest my entire life. I have no plans to every live anywhere else. I can’t think of a more beautiful place in the world. And yes, it has influenced my writing. You might notice I do a lot of stories set in valleys with snow capped mountains. Very little island tropical themes (if any). I love the mountains. I would rather spend a week in a cabin by the lake then the beaches.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?
I truly believe that mainstream has too many restrictions. In m/m, I can write a big bad toppy type of guy or a small bottom. I can even write a big bottom and a little top. I can write in the middle. In mainstream m/f, there is this thing…I have no idea what it is called, but the woman is almost always this weaker than the male. It drives me insane and I am sure it does the same for other woman. We want romance but we want our heroes to be equally strong, even if they are not physically equal.

What is it like to have more than one werewolf series published? How do you keep them different from each other?
I love having all of my series. I have so many ideas playing around in my head that sometimes it is hard to keep track of them. I have an idea list that has over 102 different story ideas written down. That does not include my files of starter stories (stories that have been started but haven’t gotten past 5,000 words), or my work in progress list (currently at 36 books in progress). As for how I keep them different from each other? I haven’t a clue. The world is created as I write it. I never really know what kind of world it is going to be until it happens.

What are you currently working?
I just started Wolf Creek Pack 11 (Sully & Samuel) and Special Operations 5 (Manny & Cecil). I’m also about 15,000 words into the sequel to Slave Auction…and about 30 other books.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?
I just write. Every once in awhile I have to go back and do a little rereading to figure out what I am trying to say or where I am at in a story, but basically, I just write. Open a page and put what’s in my head on paper. If it works for the current storyline, great. If not, write it down and set it aside for later. I work scenes over in my head a lot, working them over until I get them just the way I want them. I have a tape recorder by my bed in case I need to make notes in a hurry.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?
It can take anywhere from a week to two years. I started the Forever Mates series in 2010. I just finished books 1, 2, and 3. I am almost done with book 4. There are only four books in the series. So, those took four years to write. Sammy Dane, on the other hand, took five days. It all depends on if the story iscoming to me or not.
What was it like creating the futuristic world in The Katzman’s Mate? Creating an entire future society must have been tricky. Yes and no. I had to do a lot of research and take a lot of notes to get just what I wanted. I wanted them to be a desert people like the Bedouin, the nomadic people of Arabia. Researching heir traditions and transforming them into Katzman traditions was the most interesting part. I learned a lot.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

I think there are a few things to remember when getting started.

Getting into writing gay romance:
1. Don’t be a diva. No one likes a writer who thinks he/she is better than anyone else. There is ALWAYS someone better than you.
2. Do your homework. When I wanted to write BDSM, I joined a BDSM forum. I told them exactly why I was there – so I could get my facts straight and not just what I thought might be right. The people on the forum were very nice and actually glad I was asking instead of guessing. I do a lot of research when working on something specific. OCD, Diabetes, prosthetic limbs, bears, desert people… doesn’t matter. Just do your homework.
3. Don’t give up. If this is something you really want, then don’t give up. And don’t expect overnight success.

Trying to build an audience from scratch:
1. Without your readers, you are just a yahoo putting words on paper. Be nice. Be polite. Treat them with respect.
2. Get out there and socialize. Your readers want to get to know you. You don’t have to tell them your bra size, but talk with them.
3. Answer your own emails and always answer them. I may be a little late getting to them sometimes but I try to always answer each email. My readers are important to me and they need to know that.
4. It takes time to build an audience and get your name out there. I started before I even had a book published. I did interviews and guest blogs, started a social media campaign so that when my first book came out, people knew who Stormy Glenn was.

6561622

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

    

2 thoughts on “Interview with Author Stormy Glenn

  1. I absolutely LOVE STORMY…………….Her books have saved my Life Literally more times then I can count. Stormy writes a Story-line that has today’s lessons in them, yet in a World that you can still escape from Stress, Upset, or just the Every Day Yuck………….Love Her……………<3

  2. Great interview Stormy. I am one of your many fans and love what you write. I am ecstatic that Manny is getting his own story and looking forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

