Interview with Author River Jaymes

19059695

River Jaymes is a relatively new author, the two books to her name are The Backup Boyfriend and Brad’s Bachelor Party. She is currently working to add more novels to her list, which readers are eagerly waiting for.

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

I got here via fanfiction which introduced me to some great characters, fabulous authors, and the wonderful world of gay romance.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous? 

I guess you could say I began my career ten years ago when I started writing my first novel and realized that I didn’t know what the hell I was doing. So far I’ve taken about twenty online writing courses, attended dozens of conference workshops, and read about (what feels like) a zillion How To books. As far as growing my fan base? I never consciously had that as a goal. I write the best story I’m capable of, put out as professional a product as possible, and then start the process all over again.

What is it like to work as a physician in Alaska?

God, I love it. It’s challenging, rewarding, frequently wacky, and always crazy busy. It also includes the occasional middle of the night medevac involving bush planes, snowmobiles, and 4 wheelers. Fortunately, this satisfies the adrenalin junky that lurks inside ☺

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

I don’t have any one person I don’t want to know. Even when I wrote straight romance I was careful to keep the various aspects of my life somewhat separate: day job, family, and writing. There is definite crossover that occurs because I’m not actively hiding anything. I’m not shouting anything from mountain tops either.

What was it like to write Cole Winston and his love for Brad Kelly and how their relationship bloomed a second time in Brad’s Bachelor Party?

I adored writing their story! The two were so much fun to work with. I’m a sucker for friends-to-lovers stories. I also love second chance stories. Brad’s Bachelor Party was a blast to write because it combined these two tropes into one.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

Well, I can’t speak for every woman out there  . . . As for myself, I love a hot hero. And the more the merrier!

Did your job as a physician help you to write The Back-up Boyfriend?

Absolutely. My day job is an important of my life and shapes my view of the world. As such, it has a profound effect on my voice and the stories I tell.

What are you currently working?

I’m finishing up the final revisions to The Boyfriend Mandate, book two in The Boyfriend Chronicles. It’s Memphis and Tyler’s story.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

Every book is a little different but I always start with an idea and a storyboard. A lot of screenwriters use this tool and I find it a great way to give my muse a swift kick in the butt. Plus, I love thinking of fun scenes without the pressure of actually having to write them.  Then I write the first draft. After that I go back to my story board and try to clarify the conflict in each scene. I also use that time to shuffle my storyboard cards (individual scenes) around to see if there is a more compelling way to tell the story. I cut everything that isn’t moving the story forward. At some point along the way I have my content editor give me feedback. And then I spend time on revisions until I’m satisfied I’ve done the best I can or I just can’t take it anymore lol.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

It varies. Some books seem to write themselves and others are like trying to run through a mud bog with your ankles shackled together. So . . . anywhere from 3 months to a year.

What was it like writing Dylan Booth? How much research was needed to accurately display his past?

I freaking loved writing Dylan! His past didn’t require much in the way of research because I’ve taken care of patients who were homeless and those who’ve suffered the effects of abuse/emotional trauma. The real research I did was in reference to motorcycles. Fortunately my husband owns one and is a pretty handy mechanic so he helped with the story on that end.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

Read widely in your genre, study the art of crafting compelling fiction, and write the best book possible.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

