Interview with Author Alexa Land

SKYEBLUEFINALCOVER

Alexa Land is best known for her Firsts and Forever series, and Tinder. She plans on continuing her series, much to her fans’ excitement. No matter what she will write next, the pages will fly.

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

I enjoy reading it, so it just made sense to write what I like. 

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

I self-published on Amazon and my audience found me. 

Did being born and raised in Southern California leave an influence on how you write?

Not really. I left as soon as I could. The years I lived in San Francisco had a big influence on me, though.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

I’m totally open about writing gay fiction. I don’t think stories about two men falling in love are anything to be ashamed of.

What was it like to create vampire hunter Tinder? 

Tinder’s one of my favorite characters. He’s flawed, snarky and makes plenty of mistakes, and his humanity makes him a joy to write.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

I think the reasons are as varied as the women who read it.

Did character Jamie Nolan’s background of a family of all cops create a dynamic in the novel that was unique? Do you think the story would have been different without this element?

When I wrote Way Off Plan, I wasn’t really thinking in terms of a series. The cop aspect has been easy to integrate, but other elements I introduced at the beginning (like the mafia family) have been a little more challenging to keep bringing into subsequent books. 

What are you currently working on?

Skye Blue, the sixth book in the Firsts and Forever series, is coming out on August 1st, so I’m currently in final edits.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft. Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

I don’t outline, I just write chronologically and let the story develop organically. The end result is very close to the final draft, so I just polish it up a bit.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel? 

They usually take four to five months.

What was it like to write your first paranormal romance Feral? When you wrote it, did you plan on writing a cross-over with a novel like you did with Tinder?

Feral was a lot of fun to write, because the possibilities are endless in the paranormal genre. It was my first M/M novel, and it was written to be a stand-alone. I hate saying goodbye to my characters though, so I brought them back in the Tinder Chronicles.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

Regardless of genre, my main advice for aspiring writers is to stick with it. Write every day and keep putting stuff out there, because eventually you could find your audience.

Find me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008216261875

On my blog: http://alexalandwrites.blogspot.com/

And on Twitter: @AlexaLandWrites

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

