Interview with Author Piper Kay

Piper Kay 3

Piper Kay is best known for her novels Eight Second Cowboy and A Perfect Passion. Her ability to write believable characters has earned her readers that eagerly await her next novel.

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

It was actually another author who got me interested in it all.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

I started out blind and clueless. I’d gotten online, for the first time at the end of 2009 and got my first laptop in February of 2010. That’s really when the world sort of opened up. I got very lucky when it came to finding authors who actually talked to me. They answered a few questions and showed me different things, etc. In 2011 I joined a small group, literally 4 or 5 ladies, and learned there was such genre as mm. I mentioned I was clueless, right? One of the authors in the group, dared me to give m/m a try, so I took her up on it. She calls it a challenge, but it was a dare. Lol. The story was published in November of 2012. As far as a fan base, I just can’t say I have that. What I do have, are some very good friends and readers. One of them started a little group for us on Facebook, and we talk every day. They are 100% supportive and honest. They are the ones who helped with other readers, so they get the credit for that.

What is it like to know that you are a #1 International Bestselling author in LGBT fiction?

It’s still unbelievable, surreal. Almost like it’s really happening to someone else, because I don’t feel any different than I always have.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

I honestly don’t care who knows that I write mm. There was only one person I ever worried about, my youngest daughter, but it had nothing to do with the mm genre, it had to do with the erotica portion of it attached to me. We’ve already crossed that road, and she was perfectly fine with all of it.

What was it like writing Damien in A Perfect Passion?

Incredible, and emotional. He just wanted to be happy and be loved, but he had things stand in his way, and things that he had to overcome and get past to get there. It was beautiful.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

Two reasons. First, it’s extremely sexy. Extreeeeem-ly! The 2nd reason is because the inner conflict is amazing. Watching two men go against everything they’ve ever been taught, and grow into accepting themselves, along with someone else…now THAT is a strong, passionate, and dedicated man, no getting around the fact. And he’s willing to sacrifice everything and go through all the turmoil to be with that person? That is the ultimate dedication and super sexy.

Did living in Texas influence writing Eight Second Cowboy?

It had everything to do with living here in Texas. Hahahaha. Every year in February, we have the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo and it’s huge. My favorite event is bull riding, so I had to write it. lol

What are you currently working?

Right this very second, nothing. I took off for a week from writing. I just had book two of the Invicta Series, Invicta Sanctuary, released on Sunday as part of The Naughty Box 2, so I took off a couple days for a mental break. But I will start back, well maybe a little earlier than planned, and get to work on the last book of The Passion Series, called Passion’s Pride. It’s Serge (aka Sparky, Sparks, etc) and Ash’s story, but will also have Damien, Dax, Payce and Braxton in it as well. Plus I will be working on book three of the Invicta’s as well, which continues on with Mickey and Toryn’s story. Just a few minutes ago, as I was typing this up, another idea for a storyline popped in my head, so who knows what will come from it.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

I don’t outline, I tried that once, and the characters didn’t stick to it. Lol I’m a pantser, totally by the seat of my pants. I may get a general idea, etc., and sit down to type it, or take notes, other times it just comes out. Like a few minutes ago, when the idea came, I stopped and went to tell a couple friends, then wrote out a paragraph about what flashed in my mind. And rewrites, OMG yes, a million of them. I’m now up to seven. I re-did one chapter seven different times and different ways.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

Most of mine are novellas, so a few months I guess. My longest, is Payce’s Passion, and that is novel length. It took me a very good while to get it written.

What was it like writing the relationship between Evan and Gabe in Twisted Cherry?

Scary and I was a nervous wreck. This is the story that came from the dare with my friend I mentioned.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

Watch the authors, or even ask for guidance. This genre of writers, or the one’s that I’m associated with, are some of the sweetest people on the planet. Always willing to help and show support.

18519688

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview with Author Piper Kay

Leave a Reply

