Interview with Author Riley Hart

18773407

Riley Hart is best known for her novels Collide and Broken Pieces. She has a way of portraying characters that pull readers in. No matter what she writes next, the pages will fly!

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

I’ve been a big fan of reading m/m for years. M/m romance books really touch my heart so I wanted to write them. I read a lot of m/m and it’s what I wanted to write for as long as I can remember. I love the dynamic of writing two men.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

I’ve always loved writing. I self published my books and just got really lucky in that I found readers who seemed to like what I was writing. I think I owe part of it to the photographer I use. His images are gorgeous and I think they helped people find my books before anyone knew my name.

Do you think that living in California has influenced your writing? Has it found its’ way into your novels?

No, not really. Well actually, I do really like San Francisco and Broken Pieces takes place there. I’ve been to San Francisco a few times and I always knew I wanted to base a book there. It’s an incredible city.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

My husband’s grandma. I’m not sure how she would respond but I think it would be pretty awkward. LOL.

What was it like writing Noah Jameson and Cooper Bradshaw in Collide?

They were so much fun. I loved their banter. I loved how everything was so new for Cooper and how much he and Noah had always loved each other. Friends to lovers is one of my favorite things to write, and that’s what I set out to do with Collide. I enjoy writing strong, sexy men who have a friendship that leads to more. It’s an interesting dynamic.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

Because there are some great love stories out there! The love stories are incredible and there’s the fact that they can be extremely sexy, as well. There is something sexy and passionate men together and as women, I think we enjoy getting inside a man’s head.

What inspired Broken Pieces’ focus on bringing three men with completely different backgrounds together?

I can honestly say that was one of the strangest experiences of my life. Broken Pieces was almost like a lucid dream. I dreamed it but I was aware I was dreaming. It unfolded in three parts just like I wrote it. It was really hard to get right. I had to keep their balance and make a relationship between three such different men seem realistic.

What are you currently working?

Full Circle. It’s the follow up to Broken Pieces. It will release this September. I’m enjoying being with Tristan, Josiah, and Mateo again. They don’t always go easy on me but that’s okay 🙂

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

It depends on the book. Broken Pieces took a lot of writing down ideas and scenes because it was so important that it all fit together the right way. Stay went much faster for me. I’m a mixture of plotter and a panster but it works for me. I do outline a bit, especially in Broken Pieces. It’s different with each book though. Like I said, with Collide I wanted to write a friends to lovers book so I came up with their story. Broken Pieces came out of nowhere.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

I can typically write a book in about two months. It depends on the book though. I think I wrote Stay in six weeks but Full Circle has taken me a few months already.

What was it like to write the relationship between Wes Jensen and Braden Roth?

I am in love with Braden. He is so fun and easy going. Wes is his opposite and I enjoyed making them fit together. I like writing opposites. Braden made me laugh almost every time I sat down to write him and actually Wes did too but in a different way. With Wes it was watching him get shaken up and put to of his element by Braden.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

Write a lot. Read a lot, so you know what’s out there. Write from the heart. Don’t follow trends. Enjoy yourself and do lots of research!

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

