Interview with Author Ella Frank

ella-frank-thumbnails

Ella Frank is best known for her novels Exquisite and Try. Her ability to write emotional stories and characters draws readers in. No matter what she will right next, the pages will fly!

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

My love of reading it is what got me first interested. For the last two or three years, I have been an avid reader and supporter of the genre.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

I started my career as a medical biller and coder who enjoyed writing whenever I got the chance. I would get up in the mornings and write, sneak some time in at work, and then go home and write in the evenings.
Spreading the word about my books took a lot of time. Being a self-published author, your job is 24/7. You are responsible for everything, from getting the story ready to publish, to promoting it. But with the help of wonderful bloggers who took a chance on a newbie, I have been able to build a faithful group of supporters, and I think the rest comes from word of mouth.

If you could travel anywhere for free, where would you go and would you write about it?

I would go to Ireland, Scotland & Wales. I have wanted to go there for years and it’s on my bucket list. I would hope, if I ever get the chance to go there, that I will be inspired to write about the beauty of the countryside and the charm of it’s people.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

There isn’t one person I’d be afraid to tell. My friends and entire family know what I write, and they are extremely proud and supportive.

What inspired you to create Dr. Lena O’Donnell in Exquisite? Did you need to do research?

I wrote that book when I worked in a doctor’s office, and was surrounded by them day in and day out. It seemed like a natural occupation to write about. My husband also worked in the medical field so research was quite accessible.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

Perhaps it’s the taboo of reading it? Or maybe it’s the idea of two sexy men for the price of one book? What’s not to love?

What was it like writing the relationship between Logan Mitchell and Tate Morrison?

Fun! I love writing Logan & Tate. They are both engaging, sexy characters and have such strong personalities. I love slipping inside their brains and molding them into the men I want them to be.

What are you currently working on?

It’s a secret…but I will say it is something brand new for me. A challenge!

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

Up until recently I was never one to outline. I would jot down a few ideas and then just sit down and go for it. This next project requires a lot more to be written down in advance, so I am outlining.
My process is fairly simple. I write a draft up first and have my critique partners do chapter reads to make sure the story is engaging. After that’s complete, I do a full critique and re-write of issues in the plot, or things that just don’t feel right in certain area’s, then there is another read through. After that, it goes off to the editor, once they are done with it, I go through edits and then send off to the beta readers. At that stage, it should be 90% complete, once they go through and I fix any issues the ARCS (Advanced Reader Copies) go out to reviewers and bloggers, and then it goes on sale!
Phew! I’m exhausted…are you?

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

It depends on the story, but usually the first draft takes approximately one to two months. After everything else is included, you’re looking at around four to five.

What inspired Chantel Rosenberg in Blind Obsession?

I had an idea about an artist and his muse back when I was a teenager. It was much more innocent, but I was intrigued with her being unable to see what he was painting. I just went back and re-visited the idea and she grew from there.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

Be patient. It doesn’t happen over night, but if you love what you do, preserve and keep at it. People can tell when you love what you do.
As for writing in the M/M genre, I would say it’s like writing in any. Write what’s in your heart and head, become familiar with the genre you are working in, and go from there!

17798649

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

