Interview with Author Silvia Violet

17382327

Silvia Violet is best known for her novels Fitting In and Finding Release. Her ability to create emotional stories pulls readers into her novels. No matter what she writes next, her readers will devour it!

How did you begin your career writing romance novels? When did m/m come into play? How about your fan base?

After many years of being a voracious romance reader, I started my career writing m/f and m/m/f romance. I thoroughly enjoyed the m/m/f books I’d read and had fun reading them, but I hadn’t really considered writing m/m until I discovered the Cut and Run series which started me reading more m/m stories. I’ve grown my fan base slowly over many years, mainly by talking with readers online and by continuing to put out more books.

What is your ideal cup of coffee to fuel your writing? How hard is it to find?

I’m a huge fan of caramel macchiatos and mochas (especially iced), but I only get those as treats, usually when traveling. I have a well-honed coffee-making process that is the first thing I do after I get up. It involves whole-beans and my beloved DeLonghi coffee maker.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

My extremely conservative aunt. She’d might faint from shock.

What was it like to write about life on a horse ranch in If Wishes Were Horses?

I enjoyed researching horse ranches and envisioning the sexy, hard-working men who might care for and train the horses. I love horses and my daughter takes riding lessons so I get to spend some time at a horse barn regularly.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

I think that’s a great question and I wish I had a clear answer, but I doubt there’s one that covers all readers. For me, I love romance written from a male POV and finding out what the male characters are thinking. Two strong, sexy men working out a relationship is fascinating and can be extremely hot too.

In Fitting In, what was it like to write a fun story about Mason the bartender finding two cops to bring home? Was it an enjoyable story to write?

Fitting In was my first m/m/m and it was very challenging. Making sure each of the three characters was a fully developed character that readers could connect with and getting the characters through the difficulties of a threeway relationship wasn’t easy, but I was very pleased with the story and I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting the characters in Sorting Out. I’m looking forward to writing more in the series.

Are you currently working on anything?

I just published Unexpected Trust, a sequel to Unexpected Rescue with lots of suspense, former SEALs and spies. I’m working on final edits for a short story, Say Yes, with a hero who runs a company that supplies grass fed beef to restaurants. I’m also working on the first draft of the next book in my Wild R Farm series.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline?

When I get an idea, I start making notes, usually those are notes of scenes I see characters interacting in. Often I’ll write a few hundred words of a scene or two to get the feel of the story. I make an extremely rough outline, basically a list of scenes that need to be in the book. Then I write as fast as I can, trying to keep up with what I’m seeing and hearing in my head. I don’t go back, not even to correct typos. If I realize something needs to change, I make a note and keep going until the first draft is finished. Then I take the mess that I’ve got and go back through, making changes, doing more research, making sure the story is what it needs to be. After that I go through the story at least one more time focusing on the smaller things – phrasing, word choice, fixing technical errors. After that it’s ready for my beta readers.

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

Much of what I write are short novels in the 50-60k range. I can finish one in two-three months.

What was it like writing Coleman Wilder and his struggle as a gay man, and later his relationship with shifter Jonah Marks?

I love Cole and I have been thrilled to get to write him into each story in the Wild R Farm series. He was a mess at the beginning of the series – a gay half werewolf who wasn’t happy in human society but couldn’t figure out how to access his shifting abilities but way too stubborn to leave the conservative Tennessee town where he owns a farm. Having him meet a younger man who goes against his family’s beliefs and revels in his shifter side, having that man heal Cole as Cole healed him was a wonderful journey for me as a writer.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

For those who want to write gay romance, I would say read in the genre as much as you can, check out all the different styles and types of stories out there. Commit to a certain amount of time or a word count goal each day and sit down and write. To build an audience, keep writing and keep putting more books out there. With each one you pull in new readers who might try your other stories. Talk to people on social media, not just about your books, but about what you love to read, things you enjoy doing like cooking or running or collecting comics and don’t be afraid to ask other writers to be a guest on their blogs. Sign up to guest blog at review sites, find as many places as you can to meet new readers.

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

