Interview with Author Kindle Alexander

6421828

Kindle Alexander is best known for her novels Always and Double Full. Her ability to write across genres gives her audience a wide selection of stories to love. No matter what she will create next, the pages will fly!

What got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

The biggest answer is Blaylock Rocke and Jules from the Suzanne Brockmann series. I fell in love with those guys and found I gravitated more and more to this genre in my thoughts – this was before the ereaders and honestly I had no idea how to find more so we started writing.

How did you begin your career and how did you grow your fan base to be so humongous?

Is it humongous? I love this Kindle Alexander world of friends and like-readers. I’m very lucky and blessed. How I got started? Fan-fiction through the JR Ward Black Daggger Brotherhood here on facebook. We had no idea that world existed and it’s so much fun! Everyone should play along with those groups.

What is it like to honor your daughter through using her name as your pen name? Would she be excited to see how your novels are doing?

All of this started because of her. Our very first independent story was about Kindle. I was deep in the depression of losing her. I remember thinking about a re-do of her life and decided I wanted her to come back and be adopted by two gay fathers. One would look like Ryan McPartlin and the other would look like William Levy. The first story was her Christmas with them. That was so special to me. As for her and how she might feel, I dont know. She was accepting of everyone, I like to think she’s proud.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

Oh good question! My Dad is a good man, but raised in the deep South. He’s tolerant and taught me to be open minded. I know he knows because my sister loves telling people for the shock value, but he’s never asked about content. He’s an excellent support system – very proud of the achievements, but works for a traditional Southern Baptist College. Makes me laugh.

What was it like to write the character of Colton Michaels and his relationship with Jace Montgomery?

You know, actually they were a short story that we couldn’t get published. No one wants to be our publisher! After awhile, we added more to the story, but Jace and Colt stayed with me for a long time. Writing Full Disclosure has them back involved a little bit. I feel like they are family – I know them so well.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

Because they are smart? You know, I wonder if the MM reader has a high IQ than the rest of the world? 🙂

What was it like creating Austin Grainger? Was there a lot of research involved to accurately write the character?

You know your stuff! My goodness! Austin Grainger – I love him. My researcher was gruesome. I read a Brad Pitt book and Austin came to life.

What are you currently working?

Full Disclosure, I think we have the story out September 16, 2014. I think. Cover Reveal is August 20 – 21stish with Shh Mom’s Reading.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft? Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline? How long does it take?

We stick with the basic concept of outline, rough and revise. The books take about two to three months to write. It’s not constant. We let the story sit and come back to make sure we have things down. We also have beta readers and great editors making the process a 5 or 6 months from start to finish.

Was it hard to write the dynamic between Kane Dalton and his family?

NO! That’s true life in the deep South – away from the larger cities. It’s harder to write acceptance. Gay men and women have had it very hard. It’s incredibly sad. We havent treated them properly. There are some serious lonely men who have hidden their entire life. It’s heartbreaking.

What about his relationship with Avery Adams?

Again, no. I’ve had too many men talking quietly to me in email. I wanted something for those men. I wanted an Avery Adams to come sweep them off their feet.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance and what advice do you have for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

I’ll start with the second question first. Writing books is about 25% of the over all business of selling books. You have to not be afraid to put yourself out there. Honestly, there was a time that the only person who would talk to Kindle was the role-play character we had. Just keep talking. Dont be discouraged and don’t be afraid to give your stuff away. I’ve given away thousands of books to anyone willing to read them. As for the first question – yay! Get on it.

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

6 thoughts on “Interview with Author Kindle Alexander

  1. Wow. Great interview. I need to get your books. I am in awe of all people who support gay folk. Actually, I am in awe of m/m romance especially from the emotive POV. I think women who write m/m are just so on point with how intense a gay relationship is. Thank you Kindle.

Leave a Reply

