Interview with Author Bey Deckard

22896437

Bey Deckard is new on the scene of writing. His first novel Caged is holding the attention of many of it’s readers, keeping the pages turning. Readers are eagerly awaiting whatever he has planned next!

What started your interest in writing m/m fiction?

My interest in writing fiction came first. I sat down and wrote a few chapters of something with the intention of simply describing a romantic/sexual relationship to see if I could make a story out of it. The fact that the two central protagonists were male wasn’t something that had really occurred to me until someone (who had read it) referred to it as homoerotic.

How did you begin your career? Did you expect your fanbase to be as big as it is?

Inspired by something I had seen, I sat down on July 3rd, 2013 and started to write. That was the beginning. Since then, I’ve written over half a million words. I’m not sure exactly where I’m going with this writing thing or whether I can really call it a career yet. It’s certainly something interesting and by far the most difficult and rewarding thing I’ve done in my life. I never expected to have so many fans.

What was it like growing up in Quebec?

I grew up on the lower north shore of Québec, so the winters were long and the summers short and relatively cool. Winters were spent tobogganing and making snow forts. On the weekends, my dad would take me downhill skiing. When I was a little older, my brother and I would skidoo. In the summer, we’d take walks along the boardwalk and buy shrimp fresh from the ocean. We’d go out to the islands by boat and find seagull skulls in the caves, build teepees in the sand, light fires, and cook marshmallows. The water was so cold you would cramp up in seconds and have to spend time thawing out on the warm sand.
In my family, growing up in Québec meant growing up both French and English and being proud of our long Canadian heritage. That sort of puts me in a strange place sometimes… I’m the English Francophone and the French Anglophone depending on whom I’m talking to. I speak more English than French these days, and for a long time now. But, when I tell people I’m from “up north”, I become more Québecois in their eyes. It’s a funny place to grow up because of the constant language thing, especially when you are part of both cultures.
I really love living in Montréal. Great food, great summers, lots of different cultures… beautiful people. grin

Is there anyone you’d never want to discover you write m/m fiction and how do you think they’d respond?

I can’t think of a single person I wouldn’t want knowing what I write.

Why do you think the sea influenced you so much?

I love water. Water is sensual. It’s mysterious. It’s dangerous.
I love that to float in the sea, you have to relax. You have to surrender. It’s a powerful thing.

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

I have no idea, honestly. I didn’t know many women read m/m. It never occurred to me that my audience would largely be women.

What inspired you to write Caged? Was it fun to write?

I wanted to write a three-part relationship… and I thought the characters would make good pirates. I didn’t put a lot of thought into it, honestly. I just woke up one morning and thought, yes… I want to write about pirates.
Fun. But difficult. It’s not an easy book.

Any current projects?

Yes, I just finished the sequel to Caged, so I’ve started on the third and last book in the series. I also have a book started about gladiators, but it’s on hold for a bit.

Tell me about your writing process. Do you start with an outline? Do you rewrite multiple times?

I don’t really have much of a process. I don’t have an outline. I have a vague sense of where I’d like the story to go. I sit down and write, chapter by chapter. I try to get a thousand useable words down on “paper” per day. When I’m done, I reread the whole thing and fix typos/grammars and make sure there are no plot problems. The first book I edited myself and then published. Despite the rave reviews, folks kept pointing out the small editing problems. Because of that, once it made some money to cover it, I sent it to an editor and re-released an edited version.

How long does it take you to write a novel? 

Caged took me 82 days. Sacrificed, the sequel (out in a few weeks!) took me 173 days. I’m not sure how long Stripped, the conclusion to the trilogy, will take me.

What advice would you give for those thinking about writing gay romance? Do you have any advice on growing an audience?

laughs The best piece of advice I can give to budding m/m writers is to know how a male body works. As for growing an audience? Make friends with other authors. Blog. Talk to your fans. But most of all, write good books!

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

5 thoughts on “Interview with Author Bey Deckard

  1. I just purchased “Caged” and started reading it this week,…. love it! I’ve always been a fan of pirate stories, and I’m enjoying how the dynamic between the 3 main characters is playing out. I can tell that Tom is the character readers are going to “hate to love”, or “love to hate”. (As long as he doesn’t get between the Captain & Jon!). Glad to see there will be sequels in the future too! I was also happy to see the PB available on Amazon, I plan to get one for future re-reads, nothing beats a good old-fashioned book in your hands…..it was fun to read about your growing up around the north shore of Québec,I live in Michigan and summers on Lake Huron could also cause toe-cramping 🙂
    Thanks for a fun interview and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

