Interview with Author Terry Milien

17309834

Terry Milien is best known for his books Firesong and Iron Will. He has a way of writing that draws in readers. No matter what he writes next, it will be a great read!

What began your interest in writing m/m fiction?

The lack thereof. I started imagining boy-meets-boy stories at a tender age, when they were sorely missing from my and everyone’s life.

How did you begin your career writing?

The writing part has been going on forever (mostly), but the career part, now that happened on a total fluke. I had just interviewed for a translating job, and as I browsed the publisher’s (Less Than Three Press) calls for submissions, ideas started popping up and I thought, “Why the hell not?” Next thing I know I not only have a translating agreement, but two publishing contracts and here I am today, owner of my own publishing house.

What is it like loving stories from a very young age?

I can’t say. That is one question I’ve never asked myself. I rarely wonder why I love something, book or otherwise. I’m an easy audience, truth be told, and if I like something, why shouldn’t I enjoy it as much as I please.

Who is the LAST person you’d want to discover you write m/m fiction? What do you think they’d say about it?

I don’t really care what anyone thinks about what I do for a living. All of my close family know who I am (they’d have trouble not to, considering they came to my wedding to another man, eh), know that I write, translate and publish books that sometimes have gay people in them, or that sometimes have sex in them. Honestly, most of the people whose opinion I actually care about don’t care whether I’m channeling trying to be the next EL James or John Doe. They only care that I’m happy doing what I do, and that is why their opinions count.

What inspired Firesong? Did you have to do any research?

I wrote Firesong for a charity event, so the story was actually inspired by the person who won the bidding for my story. I even gave the characters her name (Sasha and Miller) because she wouldn’t give me any clue as to what to name them 😉

Why do you think so many women are attracted to reading m/m?

Why shouldn’t they? I’m a gay man, and I’ve loved and read many regular, mainstream novels. Why should someone’s gender be relevant in what they like?

What was it like writing Gael in Iron Will?

It was challenging. He can be pigheaded, and naïve, and a little bit temperamental. I had to wrestle, sometimes, to keep the story on track.

What are you currently working on?

That would depend on which aspect of my working life we are talking about here! Writing-wise: I’m afraid all my WIPs have long since gone into hibernation. I’m just too busy setting everything up for my publishing house’s very first releases next months, along with the translations that come beyond that. Until I find my footing and a fellow translator, I’m afraid writing is going to have to stay on the backburner, by which point it will probably be a charred mess. Eh.

Tell me about your writing process from idea to finished draft. Do you rewrite to death? Do you outline? Do you just write?

I’m a creature of no delimited criteria. I don’t have a set writing process. I am both a plotter and a pantser; I can go into a story knowing every last detail of a character’s life and worldbuilding, or instead go in all guns ablaze with only a faint idea (usually what the end is supposed to be). Whatever the case, I let the results stew for a while when it’s done, and go back in there squinting and red pens uncapped.

How long does it usually take you to write a novel?

I wouldn’t know, not unless having written a single novel is enough to make some sort of statistics. And it’s really more a big novella, truthfully. :p

What was it like writing the relationship between Eric and Allan in Midnight Strokes?

Eric and Allan. There’s so much more to their relationship than what transpires in Midnight Strokes. I definitely intend to go back to them sometime in the future. They have much more to tell about themselves.

Do you have any advice for those thinking about writing gay romance?

Not really? I’m so bad at taking advice, I always feel silly giving it. I’d say just go for it? It’s really just a matter of doing what you want. It may take you years to achieve, but you can’t know unless you try. Someone, somewhere, at some point, will give you your chance, but only if you put yourself out there.

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

