Interview with Author Sandrine Gasq-Dion

13447566

Sandrine Gasq-Dion is best known for her novels A Marked Man and Second Time Around. She has a way of creating characters that immerse readers in the story. Whatever she comes up with next, the pages will fly!

What was it that got you interested in writing m/m fiction?

Actually, a soap opera. I’ve had many gay friends over the years, but the way the soap was written was fantastic and I wanted that to carry over. So, I had a friend who pushed me into writing and I began writing chapters in a group.

How did you begin your career? Did you ever think your fan base would be so humongous?

I started with A Marked Man and sent it to a few publishing houses. I wasn’t happy with the contracts they were offering and one editor pointed me in the direction of KDP. I published A Marked Man by myself with limited funds for an editor and paid to make my own book cover. After that, I just kept putting books out over the next four months and suddenly, they were taking off. I never thought people would come to love my guys as much as I did!

What was it like to travel the world only to return home to Arizona? Did it influence your writing?

I think everywhere I have lived has influenced my writing. Coming home after more than twenty years away was therapeutic. I dedicated most of my life to the military, so getting to finally come home and stay home was the best reward. I have family here, my mother is here as well as two of my sisters and I haven’t been able to see them much besides the two weeks of vacation every six months. Seeing other countries as well as other states has opened my eyes to the diversity of people.

Is there anyone who you’d never want to find out what you write? How would they react?

I’m one of those people who doesn’t really care if you know what I do. I love the look on peoples faces when I tell them what I write about. My whole family is behind me and I think even my father would have shrugged and said “Whatever makes you happy.” So, not really. There’s no one I’m too scared to tell. lol

What inspired A Marked Man?

A Marked Man came about after talking to a few friends of mine. One of them was dead set against finding love and never stayed in one place for too long. The idea of him finding love with someone that was quiet and shy (Unlike anyone he’d ever been with) came to me as I was driving one night. Riley was born and Mateo fell hard. 😉

Why do you think so many women love to read m/m?

For me, personally, I just got tired of the M/F relationship. I’m a straight woman that loves to read two men in love and happy. I don’t know what the pull is to it, but it seems to be catching on. Maybe we just need some excitement in our lives!

What was it like creating Skylar Foxx? Was he interesting to write?

Skylar Foxx was hard to write. I’ve known a few kids like him so he really came from a personal level. I wanted people to see that what you do doesn’t define who you are. Survival is key and you do what you have to do to make it through that second, minute, hour. I still hold a special place in my heart for Skylar.

What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on ‘Ryde the Lightning’, Dane Durov and Ryder Winters book. 😉

Tell me about your writing process. Do you write every idea down? Do you plan ahead?

My writing is usually by the seat of my pants. I am almost always working on more than one book. I have a huge notepad that I write ideas down on, but most of my ideas come from driving in my car. I have a recorder for long road trips so I can put down what I’m thinking when I can’t write it. Most of the time, the whole outline is in my head and the longest part is typing it out!

How long does it typically take you to write a novel?

It takes a little over a month in some cases, others, two weeks. It depends on how loud my characters are talking to me.

What was it like writing the relationship between Kent Samson and Terry Barron?

I’ve known a few Kent Samsons in my lifetime and I wish they would have learned a lesson! I loved writing Terry, he was just so sweet and genuine, you wanted to hold him and comfort him. It was fun in the end because you really got to see Kent grow up and find love.

What advice do you have for those thinking about writing gay romance? What about advice for those who are trying to build an audience from scratch?

First off, I’m very lucky to have gay friends who have no issues critiquing my books and the sex scenes. Nothing goes live without their stamp of approval. If you plan to write M/M, please do your research! I know most of these books are read by women, but keep in mind there are men reading these books! Second? Edit, edit, edit! Find an editor that works well with you and keep them! Lastly, starting from scratch can be hard. Contact some bloggers, give them a copy of your book for review. Bloggers are gold as well as reviewers so please use them! They can promote your book which helps you out!
Last but not least, don’t let the bad reviews get you down. Not everyone likes the same things and you can’t please everyone, so be ready when that first one star hits you and then move on!

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

2 thoughts on “Interview with Author Sandrine Gasq-Dion

Leave a Reply

