Interview with Blogger Alina Popescu

profile

My blogger of the day is Alina Popescu who is a big M/M fan as well as an author who does reviews, interviews and features excerpts of her favorite M/M books. If you’re looking for a great place to find the latest and great gay romance books, I’d recommend you stop by her site.

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

Waves Hi everyone! Thank you for having me here, Jamie. My name is Alina and I am a writer. I was born and raised in Romania and yes, I know a little too much on vampires and the lore surrounding them. I write across genres, both for my MM and MF stories. I’ve published my debut novel this spring, and before that a few short stories, one of which was MM. Right now, I have another MM short published in October by Wayward Ink Publishing and a few more novels in the works.

My writer/reader blog is called Alina Popescu, Writer. You can visit it at http://alina-popescu.com/blog. It’s been around for a little over a year and it’s been one of the most fun blogs I’ve ever managed.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

It depends on what and when I am reading. But I do post them fairly often. I review books for both my blog and for Rainbow Gold Reviews (https://rainbowgoldreviews.wordpress.com) so, there are weekly reviews from me. I also do author interviews and the most recent ones have been with MM authors.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

To be honest, I haven’t been reading MM for that long. I started with MM comics of the Japanese variety and some anime, and then I found my way to my first MM about a year ago. It was TM Smith’s Opposites and I was instantly hooked to the genre. I like the characters and the story lines and the majority of what I’ve read since has been MM titles. I love the fact that a lot of them break traditional genre rules, especially with romance.

I happened to fall in love with many MM authors. However, as long as it’s a good story, I don’t really care if it’s a male-male, male-female, female-female, or any other combination.

When did you start blogging?

I’m a veteran in blogging terms. I’ve got a decade under my belt. I started with a personal blog, then a PR and Marketing one. I’ve been a guest writer for a lot of other marketing and PR blogs, then breached the travel segment, and also wrote a lot for technology blogs.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I guess it’s the fact it’s not an MM blog. It’s a blog about books and writing, and what makes it unique is me being the author. I assume they read it for my style. To sum that up, it’s mostly extreme fangirling.

What are some of the best M/M books that you’ve read all year?

Hmm… really hard to pick! Memorizing You by Dan Skinner has certainly moved me. The Crimson Nights Saga  (both books released so far) by VL Moon and JT Cheyanne is also absolutely amazing. Another memorable one is Seeing Double, the latest installment in Algenon Lusch 52 First Dates series. More books from old favorites such as Susan Mac Nicol and Jacob Flores and an amazing new find in Blaine D. Arden’s writing. I should really stop now before I list them all 🙂

What would you like to see more of in M/M literature that you don’t see now?

I’ve read in all subgenres of MM. There are a lot of great books outside of pure romance. I don’t think there’s much missing, there just need to be more books because there are never enough. I know romance and erotica get a lot more fans, but we should all check out everything going on with sci-fi, paranormal, mystery, and fantasy in the MM world. I promise you it’s well worth it.

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews? 

I think my readers love to read everything I post, yet they do tend to favor my interviews. A lot of them are actually long Facebook chats with the authors and there’s bound to be some juice when you drill a poor, unsuspecting writers for a couple of hours!

BIO

Writer, traveler, and coffee addict, Alina Popescu has been in love with books all her life. She started writing when she was ten and even won awards in local competitions. She has always been drawn to sci-fi, fantasy, and the supernatural realm, that is why most of her books explore these worlds.

Social Links
Site & Blog: http://alina-popescu.com
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authoralinapopescu
Twitter: http://twitter.com/alina_popescu
Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/alina-popescu
Google+:  https://www.google.com/+AlinaPopescu
Amazon:  http://amazon.com/author/alinapopescu

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

