Interview with Blogger Patricia Knight

7093656

Patricia Knight spends her time writing her own novels and reading– occasionally posting about the really good ones. She blogs about everything from things happening in her life to free reads and it’s definitely worth checking out her site.

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

You can read it here: http://www.patriciaaknight.com/blatherings

I am a very sporadic blogger. I blog about anything from curious experiences I have had to books I simply could not get out of my mind. I think the title of my blog, “Blatherings.” is fairly accurate! I’m not a crusader. I try to entertain and on my blog you’ll see anything from almost nekkid men to free short stories. LOL The short description on my website pretty well nails it down:
Random Attempts at Wit, Ongoing Raunchiness, Occasional Snarks & Sporadic Self-Promotion. A hopelessly self-indulgent blog wherein I muse on life’s idiocy and the good books I’ve read.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

Highly variable…perhaps three or four times a year? Depends on what I’m reading at the moment, and I have wide-ranging tastes. I’ll go on a M/M kick and read a dozen of those, of which, 3 or 4 will be worthy of my time to review. I review to recommend books so you will rarely see a review of less than 3 stars. This doesn’t mean I don’t read wretched books. I just don’t review them. I’ll give a bad review, but I have to be incensed that I spent $$$ on a book—usually this means poor to non-existent editing. My reviews are more like recommendations. ☺ It’s the author in me…it’s painful to kill someone’s baby.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I’m passionate about good books…a good story. The first M/M book I ever read was Joey Hill’s, “Rough Canvas.” I was dubious about the M/M thing starting the book but Ms. Hill made me a believer. Since then I have read a slew of M/M…a good story is a good story.

When did you start blogging?

About a year ago when my publisher, Troll River, made me. LOL I am constantly astonished that anyone would be interested in what I have to say.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I’m weird and my comments are weird? LOL I don’t know that I am all that different.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

Hmm…don’t know that I can think of specific titles as much as authors. The Captive Prince series by C.S. Pacat comes to mind as someone I read recently that I truly enjoyed—ditto with Kit Rocha and “Beyond Jealousy”. [For those of your readers who read paranormal romance, Kit Rocha is the “nome de plume” for Moira Rogers.] If you force me to, I can go back to my Kindle and look them up! Kim Dare, Joey Hill, Denise Rossetti, Emma Holly, Lynn Flewelling, Amy Lane, Morgan Hawke are authors that I auto-buy. They all deal with m/m themes but most of all they tell a rip-snorting good tale. I’m not all that into angst as a central theme so some of the contemporary books leave me luke-warm. That’s all I can think of on the spur of the moment. I’m sure I’m leaving out someone I love. ☺
One of the authors I mentioned, Denise Rossetti, writes fabulous fantasy/sci-fi stories with m/m themes. Her book, “Tailspin,” is a particular favorite of mine. The leads are winged male humanoids with prehensile tails—quite a feature during sex. And they mate in the air! ☺ She has another, “Gift of the Goddess” that has some m/m and one of the hottest sex scenes I’ve ever read. She doesn’t get much discussion on the boards or Goodreads and I don’t know why. Super good author, IMHO. I think I might have to do a blog post on her!

What would you like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I’d like to see two “hero” types engaged in epic adventure who come together out of strength and love. Not much is written where the story is an epic adventure with each of the partnership a strong, self-confident person.
An example of an author who does this extremely well is Lynn Flewelling and her “Luck In The Shadows” series. The only problem that I have with this series is that I wish the sex were more frequent and more graphic. Her two heroes are fabulous characters but the sex is implied … sigh … such a pity.

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

I think my readers prefer free stories…lol…guess that wasn’t one of the options. Okay. Probably excerpts and interviews.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview with Blogger Patricia Knight

Leave a Reply

