Interview with Blogger Amanda Meuwissen

6831429

Amanda Meuwissen runs the blog on BigWorldNetwork.com, occasionally hosting a series. She is the author of The Incubus Saga and The Collector, and runs her personal blog around that. If you’re looking for a great place to find advice or want to see what makes this blogger different, definitely check it out.

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

I run the BigWorldNetwork.com blog, where I am Managing Editor and COO of the publisher, one of the authors, and a series narrator. I also run a personal blog from my Goodreads author profile, and repost my Goodreads articles at several other personal sites, such as LiveJournal and Tumblr. For BWN we cover anything and everything around writing, publishing, and our community as the world’s premiere episodic literary network. On my personal blog I give advice and cover writing and publishing topics, but mostly write about my own M/M work.

BWN blog: http://bigworldnetwork.com/site/blog/

Goodreads blog: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6831429.Amanda_Meuwissen/blog

How often are m/m reviews posted?

Not often, as we only have a handful of M/M work at BWN right now, and as Managing Editor, I’m almost exclusively reading only BWN authors lately. I do share book reviews for my work whenever really good new ones come up, and I guest post articles at many M/M focused blog sites.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

People often ask me why I prefer writing male characters and it’s difficult to explain why I’m more drawn to them. I just am, and always have been. I think there is something more thrilling in male relationships, whether romantic, friends, brothers, father/son, maybe because as a woman I can never experience one firsthand. It’s true emersion when I write. It’s also downright sexy writing M/M, and I never tire of ‘falling in love’ stories. First times, coming to terms with one’s sexuality, realizing one’s own identity and accepting the love of another…all of it just strikes my passions like nothing else, and I imagine that will never change.

When did you originally start blogging?

Years ago. Right out of college around 2007. I first tried running a blog called Geek Girl Gamut, covering various geek-related topics and reviews. When I discovered BWN and started publishing through them, I took over their blog almost right away, and have since worked on blogging personally more as part of my author platform to engage more readers.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

While my personal blog has that as a focus, since I am an M/M writer, BWN covers a little bit of everything. I think my personal blog is different in that I don’t only cover my success and others’ works, but also ideas for how budding authors can build their platforms, create their own blogs, and find success as writers. It’s educational as much as recreational, something that is also true of BWN even though M/M isn’t as often covered there. A lot of the most important tricks of the trade aren’t specific to genre, so aspiring M/M writers can learn a lot from browsing my posts, as well as find the occasional new title to read.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

While a little dated now, I finally finished the third book in the Rainbow Trilogy by Alex Sanchez, Rainbow Road, which is a must Y/A M/M series for anyone to pick up. I love the flow of POV change between the three main characters, and their journeys of self-discovery and love. And while the following are unfinished works being published currently at BigWorldNetwork.com serialized, eventually to be made into books later, I adore Tof Eklund’s Autumn Harvest series, the miniseries of which, Tales, covers some very erotic M/M material with a fantasy flare that is just unbeatable for me. And brand new on BWN is A Prince From Another World by Estela Avery, which is Fantasy meets Modern Fantasy as two worlds collide and the main male characters find themselves drawn to each other. All just wonderful.

Is there anything you would like to see in m/m literature that is not there now?

I love the trend we’re seeing of Gay Paranormal Romance (after all it’s my forte too), but I’d love to see more sci-fi. Hopefully, one day I’ll throw my own hat into that ring, but I always have room in my heart for sci-fi, where fantasy seems more abundant.

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

Cover reveals and art always seem to be a big hit and get the most shares, because people are visual creatures, and as much as we might pretend otherwise, we do judge books by their covers. I love when people mention how much they love my covers, and for all authors it always seems to be the biggest attention grabber.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

