Interview with Blogger Lynley Wayne

colour-pencils-1348134348MHi

Lynley Wayne blogs about her own work and hosts other authors or bloggers weekly. Her blog has a unique feel compared to others, and is definitely worth checking out.

Tell us a little about you and your blog. Where can we find it?

My blog is mostly me rambling on about whatever interests me. On Wednesday’s I host a segment called, Wordsmith Wednesday. Each week I have a different author, editor, cover artist, or blogger stop by and talk about themselves, their books, or whatever they want to talk about. You can find me at www.lynleywayne.com/blog

When did you first start blogging?

I started my blog back in 2011 after signing my first book contract. In 2013 I made the decision to start hosting others on my blog. It was my way of giving back to the community that had welcomed me with open arms. Plus, it allowed me to be a bit lazy about coming up with my own posts. I admit I was horrible about posting on a regular basis, because I always end up writing a post at least three times before I post it and that takes time away from writing and the other obligations that come with a writing career… or two. Wordsmith Wednesday’s allowed me to have an updated blog, and at the same time promote the genre I love so much. So I saw it as a win-win.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs. What makes yours unique compared to others?

I’m not sure it is really. I know as an author, trying to come up with something unique to say for a million different promo posts, is exhausting and close to impossible. (At least for me.) I offer a platform for authors to get their books out there without having the pressures of having to write a post. They can send me as much or as little as they want and I will do my best to promote them. I usually start posting to social media a day or two before to let people know who my guest will be and what’s coming. You can follow me on my Facebook Author Page, Facebook personal page, or Twitter for updates.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

Since I’m a writer myself, I actually don’t have much time to read anymore. It’s one of the perils of the job. There is always another book to be written, a blog post that needs to be finished, a deadline looming, which means reading gets pushed to the bottom of the list. Last year I think I may have read five m/m books. I have a few go to authors though, for when I do have time to read. Ethan Stone, Mary Calmes, S.E. Jakes, Cameron Dane, to name a few. 

Is there anything that you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I would like to see more older, established couples.

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

I don’t know that they have a preference. I think most readers want information on the book of course. An excerpt is always helpful since it allows them a peek at the story and the author’s style of writing, risk free. Interviews though, I think readers enjoy those because they give a glimpse into the life of the author that they might not otherwise get. They learn things about their favorite writers that makes the writer more human, more approachable.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

