Interview with Blogger Aidee Ladnier

AC7A6799. (1)

Aidee Ladnier is a published author that blogs about everything from what she’s writing to interesting things she hears about. I definitely recommend checking out her blog!

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

I’m Aidee Ladnier and my blog is at http://www.aideeladnier.com.
I mostly write about things I’m interested in:
–One day it might be writing (I recently wrote a post on why I like rough drafts),
–Another day it might be an interesting scientific discovery (I am a total science nerd),
–Or maybe about history (especially when it has to do with automatons and robots),
–Or folklore (I actually studied folklore in college and love storytellers).

How often do you post m/m reviews?

I don’t actually post M/M reviews or any kind of review on my blog. Since I’m a new writer, I really don’t feel comfortable reviewing my colleagues’ work. I often rate and occasionally review books I like on Goodreads but they are not posted on my blog.

What is it that makes you so passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I love reading M/M romance. I’m also partial to M/F and F/F romance. I love the hope and promise of people falling in love. It doesn’t matter what gender or orientation you are – everyone falls in love. M/M romance books have gotten a big boost in the last few years which means there’s so many more great books to read. The dynamic of men and how they approach falling in love and romantic relationships is very different from women in many aspects. I love reading about both the differences of falling in love in a gay relationship as well as the universal similarities. Love is love.

When did you originally start blogging?

I started blogging around 2012. I’ve always liked sharing the odd things I find (like spambot poetry that makes its way into my email inbox) and the internet is a great place to share. It’s been really fun getting to know so many people via social media. 🙂

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs. What is it that makes yours unique compared to others?

Probably my eclectic style. You never know what’s going to show up on my dash. Could be cute kittens. Could be the skeletons of medieval vampires. Could be shoes shaped like pencils.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

I love, love, love Damon Suede’s most recent books Bad Idea and Horn Gate. The concept was fresh and delicious. Kim Fielding’s Brute touched my heart in the best possible way. Megan Derr’s Delivery With A Smile brought a smile to my face with its abrupt turnaround. I’m also a huge fan of Kim Dare’s Avian Shifters series, Jane Davitt and Alexa Snows’s Laying a Ghost series, and anything Amy Lane has ever written. I could totally go on all day because there are so many other great writers out there that I love.

Is there anything you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I can’t say I’m not seeing seeing this but that I just want more – diversity. I want to see all ethnic, religious, professional groups everywhere. I want anyone that goes looking for an M/M romance to find one with someone they can identify with and relate to. This is especially true for M/M young adult novels. Kids sometimes think they’re all alone, that no one knows what they’re going through–but if there’s a book out there with someone going through something similar or dealing with a problem they’re worried about, it makes it better. If a fictional character can overcome an ink and paper villain, then maybe they can do it in the real world. I know this was true for me when I was growing up. Some of my heroes are still fictional.

What do your readers prefer: excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

Most of my readers love excerpts. although there’s definitely something to be said about a juicy cover reveal as well.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

