Interview with Blogger Jay H Jay

Jay H Jay runs Joyful Jay, where she runs the site alongside six reviewers. There are plenty of m/m reviews found here, and multiple reviews are posted daily. If you love reviews, check out this blog.

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we find it?

Joyfully Jay is a m/m romance review blog.  You can find me at http://joyfullyjay.com.  We review primarily m/m romance, but we also throw in some other GBLT romance reviews, as well as some romantic fiction.

How frequently do you post m/m reviews?

We post reviews Monday through Friday.  On a typical day we review 3-4 books and the vast majority of those are m/m romance.

What is it that makes you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I was hooked on m/m romance from almost the first time I read it.  I found myself tired of many of the tropes in m/f romance and enjoyed the way m/m romance often takes on different themes and types of characters. The longer I read m/m romance, the more I enjoy it and have found I really like how the genre is evolving.  Of course, the other aspect is that I enjoy seeing people find love in all kinds of relationships and so I really appreciate reading romance featuring GBLT couples.

How long ago did you start blogging?

I started my blog in September of 2011.  We are just about to reach our three year anniversary in a few weeks. I can’t believe it!  It seems like the time flew by! What started as a little blog with just me has really grown and now we have 8 reviewers and review 15-20 books a week.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Well first off, at this point we are one of the older and more established m/m romance blogs. We have access to a lot of books for review and have a solid and experienced group of reviewers.  I pride myself on keeping the blog really professional.  My goal is that our reviews will help readers figure out if this is a book they want to read. I am not looking to tell folks whether a book is bad or good, but more to help them figure out if the book is for them.  So we try to provide detailed reviews that talk about the specifics of what we liked and disliked, all while keeping a professional and friendly tone in our reviews.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

Oh, this is a hard one!  I have read so many things that I have loved.  I recently read A Blinding Light by Renae Kaye which I totally loved.  If you are fan of historicals I loved the Enlightenment series by Joanna Chambers and am also completely loving the Magpie Lord series. At the beginning of the year I went crazy for Paradox Lost by Libby Drew.  But there are just too many to count! If you want more details on things we have loved on the blog, check out our Favorites tab in the red menu bar.  You can see our Reviews by Rating and pull up all our top rated reviews.  We also list our Monthly Favorite Books and Covers, as well as Favorites Lists of books we love in different tropes, such as nontraditional shifters or bad boys.

Is there anything that you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I am always a big fan of diversity in my characters and nontraditional heroes. I love alpha guys as much as the next girl, but I often enjoy reading about different types of people and characters, especially those outside the traditional romance character stereotype.  So that is the kind of thing I often look for when choosing a book to read.

What do your readers prefer more: excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

Well, we do all of those things on the blog actually. I host a guest post a day where an author or publisher will come on the blog to chat with readers. I know folks often really enjoy excerpts (especially juicy ones) so we do a lot of those, but we also try to keep a variety of different types of posts on the blog to keep things fun and interesting.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

