Interview with Blogger Jillian

April-profile-pic-1-1024x894

Jillian is a book lover, and her blog is all things book. From reviews to cover reveals to giveaways and guest posts, her blog is definitely worth checking out.

Tell us a little about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

My blog is Read-Love-Blog and can be found at www.Read-Love-Blog.com as well as on Facebook and Twitter.  It’s basically reviews of books I’ve read and loved, or books that look interesting and I have on my to-read list.  I have a whole host of mixed emotions when it comes to negative reviews, so you really won’t see that on my site.  I tend to believe that books are a form of art and art is truly subjective.  Just because I don’t like a book doesn’t mean there aren’t a hundred people who love it.  That being said, I don’t feel that my negative opinion should sway a reader’s decision to buy, or not buy, a book.  I always go back to the old saying: If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all ☺ Some people don’t agree with that philosophy but there’s enough negativity out there and I, for one, won’t be adding to it. 

How often do you tend to post m/m reviews?

I don’t post as many as I would like to, that’s for sure! I try to read a wide range of genres so as often as I stumble across a m/m that I love, I will read it and post a review.

What is it that makes you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

It’s an exciting time in the literary world and with more and more LGBT romance heading into the mainstream, I am happy to be able to do my part as a reader and blogger to help it gain more momentum. I am a believer that love is love and no matter what gender the people are who share it in a book, it’s wonderful to read and experience.

When was it that you first started blogging?

I started about 4 years ago when a friend of a friend asked me if I wanted to join their blog site and review books.  I had no idea what I was doing but was itching for the challenge and haven’t stopped since.  It’s one of the best choices I’ve ever made and has lead to so many amazing opportunities and meeting so many amazing people…it’s been a gift that I’m thankful for every day.   

Many of my readers love m/m blogs, but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Good question! Again, I go back to the whole positivity aspect of my blog. I think that’s one of my best qualities. I hope at least!

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

Hmmmm….that’s a tough one! Ok, it hasn’t been a whole year since I’ve read it so I say that counts haha!  Bad Idea by Damon Suede…one of my fave m/m books ever.  (and if you read it, you may notice a familiar name *wink*)

Is there anything that you would like to see more of in m/m literature that isn’t there now?

I don’t think I would change anything IN the literature, just that I would like to see more of it in mainstream media.  Thanks to JR Ward and Lover at Last, hopefully we are one step closer.

What do your readers prefer: excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

I have found, numbers wise, the two most popular types of posts are reviews and excerpts.  I enjoy both of those as well, especially excerpts.  Nothing beats a great excerpt to help you find your next new read!

Thank you so very much for spending time with me!  I enjoyed all of your questions and hope you all enjoyed it as well.  I’m always around on social media so don’t be shy…stop by and say hello ☺

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

