Interview with Blogger Jonetta Allen

Jonetta Allen reviews alongside three other book lovers on The Book Nympho. If you’re looking for great reviews of great books, check out her blog.

Tell us a little about you and your blog, and here can we find it?

I’m a full time associate reviewer for The Book Nympho (Jennifer is The Book Nympho). You can access it online at http://www.thebooknympho.com
Though it started with a primary focus on urban fantasy and paranormal romance, we know read and blog about books and authors in most genres as I’m the eclectic reader.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

I post m/m reviews whenever I’ve read a book in the genre. I don’t have a set pattern as I create a monthly reading plan that consists of author review requests, online groups’ monthly selections and series I’m trying to catch up in.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I wish I could remember my first m/m romance title but I do remember being surprised about my interest in the genre. Thanks to some very talented writers, it didn’t take long for me to fall in love with the romance of m/m relationships. It’s important to me to include all types of romance in my reading and on the blog and not limit our audience. I love sharing extraordinary reading experiences and this genre seems limitless in the number of books and authors that can provide that.

When did you start blogging?

I’ve been associated with the blog now for two years and I read almost 200 books a year.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs. What is it that makes yours unique compared to others?

What sets our m/m blog posts apart from many I’ve seen is that they are included with all other romance or contemporary fiction titles. We don’t specifically focus on m/m titles but integrate them with all of the other genres.

Are there any great m/m books you’ve read this year?

I’m just crazy about anything Amelia C. Gormley writes and loved Strain, which was featured on the blog when it was first released. I just finished reading Vanessa North’s Double Up and loved it. It will be featured on the blog next month.

Is there anything that you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I would love to see more m/m literature incorporated into series where the romance isn’t the main focus (mystery, Sci-Fi, YA, historical fiction, etc.). For example, Liz Strange has a mystery series featuring a gay private detective as the main character (David Lloyd Investigations). I would love to see Gormley turn Strain into a series. There’s a strong appetite for them.

What do your readers prefer: excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

Our readers seem to have a stronger preference for excerpts, interviews and reviews. Cover reveals have lost their appeal.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview with Blogger Jonetta Allen

Leave a Reply

