Interview with Blogger Skylar Jaye

Skylar Jaye is an author that blogs about everything from her own work to thoughts she wants to share with everyone. If you’re interested in a blog that has a lot of different posts, definitely check hers out.

Before getting started, I’d like to just thank Jamie for this opportunity. It was a ton of fun to answer these questions and I hope you all get something out of it too.

Tell us a little about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

So, hi everyone! I’m Skylar Jaye, or at least that’s the name I go by when I write romance. I’m young and eccentric, with a huge range of ideas and never enough time to write them. My blog, which has multiple links and summaries and reviews and other information about my stories as well as various posts about whatever comes to mind, can be found at www.skylarjaye.com. I’d love it if you checked it out!

How often do you post m/m reviews?

I have a Goodreads which I use regularly to rate m/m stories, but I don’t ever post reviews there. In fact, the only time I ever do any sort of review is informally on my blog—those only for the stories that wow me so emotionally that I just HAVE to write down how much I loved them, usually in a large number of words. So far, that’s been three novels, which isn’t to say I haven’t loved the other stories I’ve read… I just haven’t loved them quite that much. I have a couple more on my list of amazing books I’ll be writing reviews for the next time I reread them, and I’m sure more will come in the future, but three is all I’ve written so far.

What makes you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

The romance genre has always been one step ahead of other genres when it comes to new trends and tropes, but the m/m subset is unique in its prevalence of trope subversions. In m/m romance, you’re allowed to talk about things that normal publishers would demand you should cut out, or that libraries and schools would ban (things not just relating to the sex, I mean). You can really let your imagination run while in this genre, and that’s special and amazing. The other authors and myself aren’t limited to just one genre within romance and that’s great, because I can go from reading a great author’s space opera story to their medieval fantasy story and enjoy them both just as much.

When did you first start blogging?

When my first short story, Why Did the Chicken Cross the Road?, got accepted into Dreamspinner Press’s Animal Magnetism anthology I figured I needed a website to go along with my new persona as a romance author. I went from having read only a couple romance books in my life to suddenly having a reading list of a couple hundred and a dozen blog posts in the course of a few months. You could say I got addicted to the genre.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs, but what makes yours unique compared to others?

One thing I find fairly unique about my blog are my “Geeky Inspirations” posts. I haven’t posted as many of these as I want, but I have quite a few in the works. They’re fun because I take some part of a story I’ve written and write about whatever my passion is related to that. So I’ve ranted about the current state of superheroes, the coolness factor of ancient runes, and soon coming the awesomeness/creepiness of chickens, the completely subjective differences between tea and coffee, and other ridiculous things of that nature.

Are there any books that you would consider some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

So far this year, I read Blame It on the Mistletoe by Eli Easton which was heartwarming. I also quite enjoyed two of the free Don’t Read in the Closet stories from years ago I’ve been meaning to read and finally did: In All Your Ways by Cari Z. and The High King’s Golden Tongue by Megan Derr. Of course, I have a huge list to go through before the year ends, so I’m likely to fall in love with a couple more stories before January roles around.

What would you like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I’d like to see more diverse couples—I know it’s easy to default to the tall, dark-haired but still pale-skinned dominant man with the blond twink man, or some easy variant of that. Okay, I like that and I’ve certainly written it myself, but let’s see some interracial couples. Let’s see some super small Doms with larger subs. Let’s see some more disabled characters or bisexual characters or transgender characters. Let’s see some totally different character dynamics. I’m going to try to introduce more diverse couples as my main characters in the future and I hope to read more of them as well.

What do your readers prefer? Excerpts? Interviews? Cover reveals or reviews?

Good question. I’m not totally sure, but the exclusive excerpts I post on my blog before every new release have always been popular.

Thanks again, Jamie! Thanks to all my readers, new or old. Hope you all enjoyed~

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview with Blogger Skylar Jaye

Leave a Reply

