Interview with Blogger Kody Boye

Kody Boye is a published author who blogs about everything from issues he’s passionate about to upcoming works. If you love a varied blog, I recommend you check out his blog.

Tell us a little about you and your blog. Where can we find it?

I grew up in the horribly-conservative Mormon Bible-belt of Southeastern Idaho and escaped to Austin, TX at the age of eighteen. My blog, which is located at kodyboye.com, contains a mishmash of material — which includes articles about mental illness, sexuality, author interview features called Five Questions With and, of course, updates about my own writing.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

It’s rare when I actually read a M/M book, let alone review it. I find a lot of work within the genre to be retellings of stories that have been done before. (Boy meets boy/guy comes out of the closet/married man discovers himself after years of denying his true self,) so I’m often hesitant to read in the genre. Plus, most of them are so dark. While the ‘coming of age’ and ‘survivor’ stories are necessary, I’d like to see more about the everyday struggles of people who know and who are accepted for who they are.

What about m/m makes you passionate about reading and reviewing those books?

I like reading in the M/M genre (when I do) because it gives us a glimpse into those places that mainstream media often doesn’t go. Most people view the gay community as simply a large group flamboyant effeminate men who run around in speedos, snap their fingers and gain vitality through Cher concerts, but we all know that isn’t the case. The many facets of the community — from the kink scenes, to the entertainment world, to self-identification subcultures such as bears, twinks or jocks (to name a few) — leaves so much ground to be covered, which is why I find M/M books incredibly fascinating.

How long ago did you start blogging?

I started blogging in the LiveJournal days when I was thirteen. Though I concentrated mostly on my writing career, I eventually began to branch out and detail my own thoughts (especially about my sexualtiy when I came out at seventeen. That experience ultimately shaped my ability to interact with people and made me realize that my voice was one that could help others.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Given that I don’t write specifically about gay issues, I find my blog unique because I tend to focus more on the day-to-day aspect of my life and how LGBT issues affect me. I’m also one of the few (that I’m aware of) that are vocal about mental health and the struggles that come along with it.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

While I’ve yet to read any M/M fiction this year, some of the best M/M books I’ve read are A Density of Souls by Christopher Rice (which helped me accept my sexuality at the age of fourteen) and a novel called Is Harvey Dunne? by K.L. Romo (which is my favorite out of all the M/M fiction I’ve read.) I’m also a fan of J.M. Snyder’s work.

What would you like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I’d like to see more diversity. I want to explore the facets of polyamorous relationships without them being all about sex, the drag scene without it being all about drama, period pieces detailing accurate struggles in various parts of the world (especially in developing countries and heavily-homophobic nations in Africa or the Middle East.)

What do your readers prefer: excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

My readers seem to prefer interviews and cover reveals. Reviews (for me in particular) don’t always click with everyone, and excerpts tend to be a dime a dozen (especially since a good excerpt that accurately portrays the work is hard to find.)

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

