Interview with Blogger Mandi Schreiner

Mandi Schreiner started Smexy Books a few years ago to showcase all romance novels. She blogs alongside four other book lovers. If you’re looking for a great review site, check out her blog.

Tell us a little about you and your blog. Where can we find it?

I started Smexy Books in 2009, a romance and urban fantasy review blog. Along with four other reviewers, we read all sub-genres of romance. We also do author interviews and giveaways and every Friday I write a Top Ten list, which is part book talk and part half naked man talk. It’s a good combination.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

We post m/m reviews a couple of times a month. It’s one of our favorite sub-genres and I have reviewers that actively seek it out.

What made you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Long ago, before Twitter, or at least before I discovered Twitter, I was big into the JR Ward message board forum. She had thousands and thousands of members and we would sit and not only talk about her books but other books too. Someone started urging me to try a m/m book, a genre I had never even thought of reading. So I downloaded onto my computer (this was before kindles!) Heaven Sent by Jet Mykles. I devoured it in one sitting. I couldn’t believe how much I enjoyed the dynamics between two heroes. I then read that entire series and haven’t stopped yet.

When did you first start blogging?

I started blogging in 2009. At that time I had a child in elementary school and a three year old, so I guess compared to the previous few years, I had a little more independence. On the JR Ward message boards, she was very strict about all conversation being PG 13, and all I wanted to do was say bad words and talk about the hot sex scenes we were all reading. So on a total whim, I sat down at blogger.com and started a blog. I had used the word “Smexy” a lot to talk about the dirty heroes I liked, so I stuck with it.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs. What makes yours unique compared to others?

One thing I like about Smexy Books and the girls that review with me is that we are extremely passionate about romance books, and we can have very serious feelings about the books we read, but we don’t take ourselves super seriously. We laugh – a lot. We allow ourselves to get angry, or sad or happy about the books we read, but we also allow ourselves to be silly and joke and just have a good time. I couldn’t do Smexy Books without Tori, Helyce, May and Sheena. They are just fabulous.

Are there any books you would consider the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

My favorite series, which is coming to an end is The Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux. It follows two FBI agents, Ty and Zane and I absoutely adore them. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I read the final book. Probably sit here and cry. I’m also a huge fan of anything KA Mitchell writes, Marie Sexton and Sean Kennedy.

Is there anything that you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

I’m not sure if I feel like anything is necessarily missing, but like with any genre, I like different things. For example, Dev Bentham wrote Moving in Rhythm where one hero had a crippling shyness disorder. Actually, speaking of Dev Bentham, her Tarnished Souls series is different and well done. We need books that have good chemistry, passion, they make me smile and feel things. Oh – and hot sex. wink

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

We primarily do reviews, although we do some excerpts and interviews. If we find a book we love, we like to promote it and try to give away some free copies. But the review format allows us to rave or rant about books and hopefully convey our thoughts.

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

