Interview with Blogger Pamela Turner

20121003_9

Pamela Turner runs her blog focusing on the darker side of fiction. Here you can find a lot of guest authors and their excerpts and the occasional blog tour. If you are looking for a different blog, I recommend checking hers out.

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

First, thank you for inviting me, Jamie. ☺ I’m a speculative dark fiction author, and I have a blog, Darkling Delights, which is open to authors who write in similar genres. From time to time, I invite authors who write in other genres, but this is done on an individual basis.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

I tend not to post reviews. It’s been years since I posted a book review, and the last review I did was of a horror movie. So I’m not against reviews as a way to add variety to my blog, but as a general rule, it’s not a review site. ☺ 

What made you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I enjoy reading m/m. Can’t really explain why. I started with yaoi manga, which I still enjoy reading and moved into reading m/m from there. Maybe it’s because when I write, I tend to write from a male POV.

When did you start your blog?

I started Darkling Delights in 2010, soon after I submitted my first short novel to a publisher. I don’t remember exactly why I started the blog, but probably had taken the advice that authors need one.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs. What makes yours unique compared to others?

In this case, I would have to say it’s the speculative fiction focus. ☺

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

Rather than say all year, I’ll list a few of my all-time favorites:

Personal Demons (James Buchanan)
Cheating Chance (James Buchanan)
Whistle Pass (KevaD)
Somebody Killed His Editor (Josh Lanyon)

There are probably more, but I can’t remember. And there are many books I want to read or that are on my TBR shelf. If you ask me this same question a year later, I’m sure I could add more names and titles to the list.

Is there anything that you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

Angel m/m paranormal romance. ☺ I write this (sub)genre, but my understanding is publishers and agents are currently discouraging any pnr. Angel m/m pnr is definitely niche and it’s harder to find an audience, but there must be readers out there because other authors write such stories.

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

I don’t really know. Whenever I invite authors, I always tell them covers, excerpts, buy links, etc. are welcome. Since I don’t consider myself a review site, I don’t do reviews, but otherwise, any type of promo is fine as long as it doesn’t violate Blogger’s TOS.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview with Blogger Pamela Turner

Leave a Reply

