Interview with Bloggers Slick and Leigh

Slick and Leigh blog alongside a group of fellow book lovers,  blog is mostly reviews of novels from ARC editions to traditional publishing, and the occasional giveaway or blog hop to find as well. If you enjoy reviews, I recommend checking out their blog.

Tell us a little about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

Slick Reads: I review for Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews. We cover a wide variety of romance and erotic romance books of various genres on our blog. We believe in being honest without being snarky and we have worked hard to cultivate a good reputation for fair and honest reviews.  You can find the blog at www.guiltypleasuresbookreviews.com, on Facebook Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews on Twitter @GultPlsureBkRev.

How often do you post m/m reviews?

Slick Reads:  That’s a hard question.  Personally I LOVE M/M books and read them often.  I have authors I regularly read and gladly post reviews when I read them.  I also love reading new to me authors as well.  I’m primarily a contemporary reader though so you won’t find me reviewing M/M historical, sci-fi, paranormal or other genres like that although some of our other reviewerss do.

Why are you so passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Leigh: I hadn’t read a m/m book until a few years back when I picked up Small Town Siren and Siren in the City by Sophie Oak.  I didn’t think I would enjoy reading about two men if I couldn’t imagine myself as one of the people involved in the encounter.  But after reading these books, I fell in love with the two men in the ménage relationship, and enjoyed getting the opportunity to watch them together.  In some ways, reading about these two strong men together was even sexier than reading an erotic scene between a man and a woman because there was twice as much for me to imagine and twice as much cowboy!

Slick Reads: I love the dynamics of the m/m relationship.  My best friend in high school was gay and I saw him struggle with his sexuality and finding someone to love back in a time when being gay wasn’t something you talked about.  I’ve had many gay friends in my life so for me m/m books are simply just romance between two men, something I’ve always supported. I really love reading m/m because they just usually have a different feel that a m/f book has and that’s because men just view love and romance differently (for the most part) and they dynamics are different.  The relationship problems are usually more diverse and you don’t usually run into the same types of overused romance troupes you find in traditional m/f romance.

When did you start blogging?

Slick Reads: Guilty Pleasures started June 13, 2011, I’ve been reviewing for Guilty Pleasures for a little over 2 1/2 years.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs. What about this blog makes yours unique compared to others?

Slick Reads:  I really can’t say.  I do feel we offer non biased and honest reviews of multiple genres.  We also do author interviews, contests, and participate in blog hops and cover reveals.

What are some m/m books that you’d consider the best you’ve read all year?

Leigh: I loved Iron Cross by Bianca Sommerland, Takeover by Anna Zabo and the ARC I read for How to Train Your Dom in Five Easy Steps by Josephine Myles. Although these books were very different from one another, they all had one thing in common:  a lead male character that exuded confidence and was not ashamed to be in love with another man.  That type of security and self assurance was just plain sexy.

Slick Reads:  With or Without Him by Barbara Elsborg, The Only One Who Knows and The Only One Who Matters by Cat Grant & L.A. Witt, Texas Family (actually the whole Texas series) by R.J. Scott, If It Drives by L.A. Witt & Aleksandr Voinov, Tough Love by Heidi Cullinan, and Take by Ella Frank.  My favorite M/M books remain Boys of Summer and Taking You Home by Cooper Davis as these were the first two M/M books I ever read.  My favorite all time M/M series is The Hollywood Series by Tibby Armstrong.

Is there anything you would like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

Leigh: I would like to see more stories where the men are not hiding their sexuality or spending so much time fighting it.  The m/m books I have enjoyed the most are those where the men embraced their attraction or the feelings they had for another man and didn’t try to quash it or act as if it was wrong.  Just as I look for a strong, confident, dominant male when reading a M/f story, the m/m characters I’ve enjoyed most have been unabashed in their sexuality and just plain strong heroes.

Slick Reads: I would really love to see more books where one of the male characters is portrayed a little more effeminate.  I’ve only read a couple like this and it was kind of refreshing because it seems that most m/m books portray both men as being very alpha type males which believe me I love but it’s great to branch out.  I’d also love to see more m/m books with more emotion and men truly committing to one another I think that’s why I love the Cooper Davis books, Tibby’s Hollywood series, and R.J’s Texas series so much.

Do your readers prefer excerpts, interviews, cover reveals or reviews?

Our readers prefer a variety of everything. Like all of the reviewers at Guilty Pleasures our readers are voracious readers and enjoy everything concerning romance books.

 

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

