Interview with Blogger And Reviewer Solange

pictureToday, I’m delighted to interview reviewer and gay romance columnist Solange of the Smut Book Club. Along with her awesome team, her blog reviews different great books on the genres of gay romance, erotica, new adult and many more. If you’re looking for an awesome place to check out giveaways and reviews on great books, definitely check out her blog.

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

We don’t discriminate at the Smut Book Club. I might be the Gay Romance columnist, but we do really have something for everyone. We even have someone who reviews sex toys! (No, really, it’s awesome. You should check it out.) We’re also not exactly a review blog. We recommend books, so if we don’t like it, we won’t write about it. Our readers want to know about the good stuff!

You can find us at http://www.smutbookclub.com

How often do you post m/m reviews?

We try to post at least once a week. SBC was predominantly a hetero romance book club until about a year ago, when our Smut Mama, Angie, decided she needed someone to cover the Gay Romance too, and she didn’t have time to do it all. This is where I came in.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Ahh, the million dollar question. I… don’t actually know? I do read other genres. I love mysteries, I love fantasy, I love paranormal thrillers… but I don’t love hetero romance. I can’t explain it. I guess there is something about the gay romance dynamic that adds an extra layer of complexity I personally don’t find in hetero romance.

When did you start blogging?

About a year ago, when Angie asked me if I’d be interested in doing it.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

It’s hard to say because we don’t see the different traffic between the hetero and gay romance that comes in. I think what makes Angie’s site unique is how approachable she is, and how she really stays on top of what’s new, what people like, and where the good deals are to be found.

What are some of the best m/m books that you’ve read all year?

This is a tough one, because I’ve read a lot of good ones. Obviously the big names like Josh Lanyon, Harper Fox, Amy Lane, all brought out some fantastic books. But thinking back off the top of my head without peaking, my top five in no particular order would be:

The Power Exchange series by AJ Rose

Secrets of Neverwood by Libby Drew, Diana Copland, and G.B. Lindsay

A Forbidden Rumspringa by Keira Andrews

The Men of Smithfield series by LB Gregg

The River Leith by Leta Blake

What would you like to see more of in m/m literature that you don’t see now?

Oh, I don’t know. I think we have a pretty broad variety if you know where to look. I wouldn’t say no to more murder mysteries with a tinge of romance behind it, and I’m a sucker for a sad tale. I don’t necessarily need my HEA as long as the story feels real. I guess that’s pretty hard to find in the romance genre.

What are tips you can give to aspiring reviewers and bloggers?

Put a lot of time and research into it, stay on top of what’s new, and connect with readers and authors alike!

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

