Interview With Blogger and Reviewer Jennifer Mitchell

pictureThe special guest we’re interviewing today is blogger and reviewer Jennifer Mitchell from Two Sassy Chicks. She has a wonderful blog where she and her team review different books, share their love for reading, offer freebies and many more. If you’re looking for a blog with a lot of value to offer, you definitely need to check out hers!

Tell us about you and your website. Where can we read it?

Well, I’m a married mother of two wonderful teenagers. My son is 17 and my daughter is 14.  I work full-time in the mammography department of a major trauma hospital. My little book blog is called Two Sassy Chicks, and I’ve roped my girlfriend Tammie into the blog craziness with me.

We have a Facebook page – http://facebook.com/twosassychicksbookblog;

a webpage – http://twosassychicks.wordpress.com

and we are on Twitter @twosassychicks.

Two Sassy Chicks is about a year and a half old, and it’s been such a fun experience.

What got you started as a blogger or reviewer?

How I got started blogging is actually kind of funny. I’ve always been an avid reader; usually reading anywhere from 4-6 books a week. I won a contest from another blog page and the administrator of that page and I started chatting. She’s the one who encouraged me to start blogging and sharing my book passion with others. I honestly was scared to death. I didn’t know the first thing about having a blog and let’s face it, there are some AMAZING blogs out there, what on earth could I possibly have to offer? When I hit 100 followers, I was so excited. Now, we are up to almost 5,000 and it still blows my mind every day. My husband just rolls his eyes at me. He thinks I’m a geek. (Total book nerd and proud!)

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing books?

Like I said earlier, I’ve always been a voracious reader. I was an only child growing up, and having a single mom, I wasn’t allowed to go outside until she got home from work. So I started reading anything and everything from a young age. At 5, I would memorize Clifford the Big Red Dog books. At 8-10, I got hooked on the Babysitters Club, Nancy Drew and Sweet Valley High. The characters in the books became my friends. They kept me company when I was alone, and even though I never left my house, I can’t tell you the number of adventures I went on! I realized at a very early age the power that words printed on a page had. I’ve been all around the world through the pages of a book, and I love sharing that with others. If I can convey what the book meant to me in a review without giving the story away (I HATE spoilers!), then I’m a happy girl.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Oh gosh. Well, I’m not an exclusively m/m blog, but I will say that it is definitely one of my favorite genres to read. Love is such a beautiful thing. It doesn’t matter who its shared between as long as there are two willing and reciprocating participants.

Define success as a reviewer.

I have one follower who often emails me and asks me for recommendations. I always send her links to my reviews and she’ll email me back telling me how much she also loved whatever book I’ve recommended. That to me is success.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

There are SO many great ones!! BUT, here are my favorites of this year so far:  Always and Full Disclosure by Kindle Alexander, The Rock God’s Series by Ann Lister and Being Sawyer Knight by Nicola Haken.

What would you like to see more of in m/m literature you don’t see now?

My favorite genre has always been suspense. I would LOVE to see more of a m/m romantic suspense or a m/m thriller genre. If there’s one out there, someone please tell me the name of the book! One of the reasons I loved Full Disclosure by Kindle Alexander was because it was a little more along the lines of romantic suspense. It kept me on the edge and that made me very happy.

What advice can you give to aspiring reviewers and bloggers?

DO IT!! Don’t be afraid to tell people what you think. As long as you write reviews from the heart, you’ll never go wrong. Reviews are SO important to Indie Authors, even the 1 and 2 stars one. As long as you don’t be mean and completely rip the author apart, they will appreciate the review. They know that not everyone will like their work. As far as blogging goes, go for it. I’ve met some amazing fellow bloggers that are so completely supportive, and I love the comradeship between us. It’s a very cool, fun world, and one that I’m proud to be a part of!

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

