Interview With Blogger And Reviewer Jason Kivela

NOH8

Our guest for today is gay romance blogger and reviewer Jason Kivela. He’s passionate with the m/m genre and provides valuable insights in his blog which his followers highly respect. If you’re looking for detailed reviews on gay romance books, you need to check his blog!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

My reviews for books in general are located either on my goodreads.com page or my livejournal. The books I read mostly have gay themes, either romance, sci-fi or fantasy, but I do other book reviews as well. My livejournal is: http://jkivela.livejournal.com/

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

As a gay male in his 30s there were basically no gay themed stories I could read as a young adult. My first experience with gay fiction was with fan-fiction, back when that was becoming a lot more popular in the early 2000s. When I started finding gay stories, especially ones where it wasn’t a “gay story” but a sci-fi or fantasy story with gay characters I wanted to share them with my friends and followers.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

The m/m genre is one that I can relate to. Having m/m fiction becoming more main stream is just one more step in reaching an understanding and accepting society.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Of course I don’t want to generalize, but many of the m/m blogs I read are run by women and the reviewers tend to be women as well. I feel having a gay male point of view is important for this subject manner.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Success in my mind would be recognition by authors one reviews, and an accepting and passionate reader following.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Top for 2014 for me would be:
Highfell Grimoires by Langley Hyde
Shards of Time by Lynn Flewelling
Battle of Will by Sasha L. Miller
A Case of Possession by K.J. Charles
Goblins by Melanie Tushmore

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

It is getting better, but I prefer my m/m fiction to be about the story, while sci-fi, fantasy, or other, and not about the characters being “gay”. I want their sexual preference to be just another factor of who they are, like if they like cats or dogs or have green eyes. I don’t want it cleansed though, sex is great and sells, it just shouldn’t be a big deal the gender of who the protagonist is with.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Just do it. I am not trying to make a career out of blogging or reviewing, so my view point might be different than other bloggers. But the nice thing to be about the internet and blogging is I can put what I want out there and it doesn’t’ matter to me if anyone reads it at all. As long as you can deal with any hateful comments, to just ignore them, you should enjoy what you are dong.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

