Interview With Reviewer And Blogger Barb Manning

barb-creativeink2012

Our special guest for today is no other than blogger and reviewer Barb Manning from Creative Ink Romance Reviews. Her blog hosts highly respected book reviews on a variety of gay romance genres. If you’re looking for a resource to know the best reads available, I highly recommend you check her blog!

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

My blog Creative Ink Romance Reviews began as a place to publish my personal reviews of books that I read. I am a voracious reader of all genres, but I love to review M/M romances. How could you not love reading about two hot guys in love. You can find CIRR reviews at http://ci-romancereviews.com

How often do you post m/m reviews?

Generally, Creative Ink Romance Reviews publishes 3 or 4 reviews per month. CIRR has been on hiatus because I’ve been studying for several professional certifications, but a new review of Finger Lickin’ Good by Shawn Bailey will appear this week. If you want to take a shot at writing a M/M romance review, send me a note. CIRR is open too publishing reviews by other writers, so long as they are fair and honest.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing M/M books?

I am passionate about reading and reviewing M/M romances because many of them take a fresh look at relationship stories. The books are generally energetic and filled with fire and lust, although sometimes the comfortable warmth attracts me to the story.

When did you start blogging?

I write reviews all the time and always have, but Creative Ink Romance Reviews is about 3 years old. It’s a new outlet for my M/M romance reviews. CIRR reviews modern, historical, mystery and paranormal/fantasy M/M romances.

Many of my readers love reading M/M blogs. What makes yours unique in comparison to others?

Creative Ink Romance Reviews is a labor of love. I’ve always had a passion for storytelling‐‐ who doesn’t love a nice story. My hope is that CIRR will continue to entice readers with reviews of great and fun M/M romances.

What are some of the best M/M books that you’ve read all year?

The stories I loved rereading most this year were the Texas series by R.J. Scott. I just finished book 5 in the series and reading about Jack and Riley on their ranch is very entertaining. I’ve reread those books so many time, those two are starting to feel like friends. I’ll also read anything by Andrew Grey, Amy Lane, Heidi Culinan, or T.A. Chase. I’ve read and reviewed some great novels by them.

What would you like to see more of in M/M literature that you don’t see now?

I would like to see more stories involving mature men dealing with the hazards and conflicts of maintaining a committed relationship in all types of story genres from historical to mystery to paranormal. It’s nice to see stories about the first bloom of love, and the passionate clench in the corner, but what happens after?

What tips you can give to aspiring reviewers?

Find your voice and be true to it. Speak honestly about the books that you review. If there are serious flaws in a book reach out to the author. Don’t bash someone’s work just to get attention. Most of all have fun! Reading is entertaining!

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

