Interview With Blogger Scott From Queer Sci Fi

Scott and loving husband Mark Guzman

Scott and loving husband Mark Guzman

Today I’m interviewing blogger Scott from Queer Sci Fi. His blog features unique books on the sci fi, supernatural, and fantasy genres with LGBT characters. If you’re looking for something distinct and special, I highly recommend you check out his blog and discover great books you’ll love!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

The blog is http://www.queerscifi.com. It’s not a gay romance blog per se – our focus is on sci fi, fantasy, and paranormal stories, announcements, topics, books, movies, news, and reviews that include LGBT characters – but that also includes a bunch of authors and books that are in the MM romance subgenre. 🙂

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I’ve been writing since I was little. I finished my first book in my twenties and sent it out to ten publishers. They all declined it, though the last one took a year to get back to me. So I gave up and mostly went on to other things. But I always had the writing bug, and I got myself back in gear last year.  Early this year, I decided to launch QSF, both as a venue for my own work and to pull together other authors and readers like me who enjoy a little gay in their speculative fiction.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I’ve always loved sci fi and fantasy, but until recently, there were very few books that had openly LGBt characters. I’m thrilled to see this broadening, especially in the MM romance space, and hope to see that spread over to the mainstream side, too. In fact, Im hoping to actively encourage that!

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

We’re one of the only ones focusing on speculative fiction. I’ve been amazed by how many MM writers either have written some sci fi, fantasy or paranormal things but haven’t rally committed to the genres, or have really wanted to. Our site also has a unique feature – a private blog for critiquing these works as they are in progress – it’s perfect for authors writing in this space.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Reaching people. If you can write something that folks really want to read, you have succeeded. Of course, if those people number in the thousands, even better. 😛

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

I’ve always been a mainstream sci fi reader. But I am now diving into MM sci fi. I really enjoyed Amy Lane’s A Solid Core of Alpha, and am currently reading Ashlyn Forge’s From Johann to Tannenbaum – she also did a great free short called Sunstance (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00O45JH92).  Next on my list – Jamie Fessenden and Angel Martinez.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

More sci fi and fantasy, especially, that relies on the sci fi and fantasy elements as plot drivers instead of romance, but with strong LGBT characters. It’s coming.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Make lots of friends. Facebook is an amazing tool, even if it pisses you off sometimes. Start a group there, not a page, and look for authors to friend – I’ve found that most are extremely welcoming, and there’s a terrific community developing on FB. And be nice. 🙂

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview With Blogger Scott From Queer Sci Fi

Leave a Reply

