Interview With LGBTQ Blog Owner And Reviewer Cam Kennedy

Cam2Cam Kennedy is a LGBT reviewer and blog owner of Smoocher’s Voice. Her blog is full of LGBTQ books reviews and it features a cause where authors can donate a portion of their royalty earnings. Her blog will soon be featuring personalized interviews, promos, giveaways and many more! If I were you, I’d go to her site and see the great value she and her team have to offer!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I’m Cam Kennedy (aka Carrie Ann Kennedy). I am the single parent of 3 children, I work part-time, write part-time, I appear on WON Radio on a show called Bibliophiles and blog fulltime. The blog currently makes zero profit, so it’s more of a time-consuming hobby, as I’ve never attempted to monetize it. My blog is Smoocher’s Voice, which is in transition at the moment. Currently we focus on LGBTQ+ book reviews, but in January our focus will become Promo, Personalized Interviews, and GiveAways, with the occasional review thrown in there.

Check: http://www.smoochersvoice.com/

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I opened the blog in 2012, after several authors asked me to review books. It was never supposed to take over my life.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I have always been a passionate reader. I love books. Some of my best friends throughout the years have lived between the covers of books. I discovered M/M in 2011, and was quickly addicted. It wasn’t the same old same old of m/f romance. The writing was superb, and the subject matter is near and dear to my heart as I identify on the LGBTQ spectrum.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Right now I’d have to say our biggest draw is our interviews. We (Jodi and I) read the book and interview the author based on the book, not just a generic list of questions.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Success as a blogger is subjective. I consider myself successful when someone tells me I had influence over what they read or bought. That my opinion on a book mattered to them.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Oh, that is a difficult question…  Summer Symphony by Brandon Shire (gay Fiction), The River Within by Claire Baxter Troutman (lesbian contemporary fiction) , If We Shadows by D.E. Atwood (trans), Alpha Trine by Lexi Ander (M/M/M Mpreg)

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I’d love to see more sci-fi fantasy titles, and more urban fantasy. Those are my favorite sub-genres. I’d also love to see more ethnic diversity.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Keep blogging. Don’t be afraid to ask for help, and don’t forget to cultivate relationships with both authors and readers.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

