Interview With Reviewers And Bloggers Kris and Vik

krisOur special guests for today are bloggers and reviewers Kris and Vik from the Kris & Vik Book Therapy Café. Their blog features honest reviews on different romance and erotica books. Not only that, they also feature well-known authors and offer giveaways. If you’re looking for a blog that has a lot to offer, I strongly recommend you check out theirs!

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

Kris: I’m the Kris in Kris & Vik Book Therapy Cafe. I’m a mental health therapist by day, I’m also earning my second Masters degree, and trying to get licensed as a professional counselor. Reading and blogging are my escape from the every day heavy stuff I usually deal with.

Vik: I’m the Vik in Kris & Vik Book Therapy Cafe. I work in Orthopaedic Research specifically surgery and treatment follow up of disorders in the Foot & Ankle. Reading, as it is also, for my blogging soul-mate is an escape from pressures and helps unwind you. Also great mini-vacation when you can’t get away.

We can be found at http://www.krisandvikbooktherapycafe.com

We also have an FB page http://www.facebook.com/krisandvikbooktherapycafe

Also we try to maintain funny & book related presence on Instagram: http://instagram.com/krisvik_booktherapycafe

What got you started as a blogger or reviewer?

Kris: I started blogging on a much smaller scale at first. I started my own blog and through contacts that I began to make on facebook and goodreads decided that it was something I love doing and want to do more of. Goodreads is really where I felt part of a reading community first and learned about the wonderful world of book blogging & reviewing.

Vik: My first introduction into blogging was via Goodreads and that is where I met all my book friends including Kris. It opened up this new world of book recommendations. I just remember looking for something to read that was like what I read and I just stumbled onto Goodreads and never looked back. It truly is a little community and if you find your niche that is when you will be home all the time with a friendly company who will always understand you.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing books?

Kris: There is almost no better feeling to me than when I find a book that tells a story so well and has characters that I connect with and really feel. I’ve always been a reader since I was a child. I love being able to escape into different worlds and it keeps my brain fresh.

Vik: I think pretty much Kris summarized it perfectly but there is more to it. We have all come from different places and scenarios in life but the one thing we all have is that love for books. But it’s also sort of who you are… it is your identity. We are a special breed who looks for more out of life, more detail, fuller stories and characters. We might be looked on as introverts but it’s the opposite I think we ‘try’ more in books. Some of us are not into jumping out of airplanes but we will read about it and experience it through the eye of the character. BTW that is one thing I will never do but I want to read that rush. It’s a getaway plain and simple.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Kris: We’re not just an M/M blog, or just an erotica blog, or just a contemporary romance blog. Between Vik and myself we cover many sub genres of romance, we also enjoy sci-fi, paranormal, and fantasy. Everything can be found on our blog from bikers and bdsm to rockers and threesomes, epic romances to the smuttiest of the smut.

Vik: Exactly

“Variety’s the very spice of life, that gives it all it’s flavour.” ― William Cowper

Define success as a blogger and reviewer.

Kris: Success for me means that this doesn’t become too much of a job all the time, but stays something that I do because I love to do so, as a blogger. As a reviewer, success for me means that I can review a new-comer that I’ve never heard of and an author whom I am great friends with and do it with the same amount of honesty and respect for both. I can review a book that I love and give the same respect to a book that I did not like.

Vik: I think success would be introducing a book to a person and making them see it through your eyes but at the same time letting them make their own opinion of it. It is also being respectful to both Reader and Author because really aren’t bloggers just middle (wo)men.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Kris: This year, Take by Ella Frank, Always by Alexander Kindle, and I’ve read much of the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux this year and love it.

Vik: Well I’ll confess now I have not read full M/M story but I loved bits of MM story line in Tiffany Reisz’s Original Sinners Series. Also Lorelei Jame’s Rough Riders Series, but if I remember correctly it was sort of a mix of MM and MMF. I guess I’m still in search of finding my first MM love. Recommendations welcome.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

Kris: Nothing moves me more than when I read an epic love story. For example, Kindle Alexanders Always is one of the best M/M reads I’ve ever read. I also enjoy a really awesome series when it is done well for example The Cut & Run series, has so many characters and depth.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Kris: Oh, I don’t know. Stay true to yourself, don’t hock crap to your followers, and try to have fun.

Vik: Hmm… provide picture inspirations 😉

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

