Interview With Gay Romance Author And Blogger Evelise Archer

ea-diamondglobe3It’s a great delight to interview today gay romance author and blogger Evelise Archer. His blog reviews different m/m books you need to check out. If you’re looking for valuable insights from a seasoned gay romance writer, I highly recommend you check and learn from his blog and books!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

Hi Jamie and thanks for having me today. I actually have two blogs. Sexy Erotic Xciting is my review blog (http://sexyforreview.blogspot.com/) and my author blog is http://evelisearcher.blogspot.com/.

I am an reader and story teller, wife, mother and reviewer. I love all things M/M~ whether it’s reading or reviewing. Besides books, my next passion is coffee. I can be found reading my favorite books on my e-reader or in front of my lap top spinning a next tale or writing a review.

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I love reading, writing and reviewing M/M books and I actually started reviewing for other blogs before I decided to start my own. It’s a lot of work, but it’s the best decision that I made. I love the freedom to choose my own books and interact with fellow authors and reviewers. It’s wonderful to build a rapport with them.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I simply love the care and devotion M/M authors put into their books. The dynamics between two males is vastly different than between a male and a female. There’s a certain tender synergy when two males are wading through relationship turmoil’s. Maybe, it’s because mainstream society is still not on board 100% and they have struggles that are not usually found with M/F couples.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I have tried to read and review a variety of books in the M/M genre, plus host blog tours, cover reveals and contests. I don’t want my readers and authors that I review to think they are just a number on the back burner. I’m very lucky that many of the authors I review have personally contacted me to say hello and/or thank you, which only builds for a better working relationship.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Have an open mind and remember, just because you don’t like the book doesn’t mean someone else won’t like it. As an author, myself, I want people to be objective when they review my work. So, in saying that, when I review a book I too want to be objective and always remember this was the fruition of hard work and effort on an author’s part. I won’t slam an author~ it’s disrespectful!

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

My list of best books is probably endless, but I love Morticia Knight. Ms. Knight’s time piece books take me back and personalize an era long past (her Gin & Jazz series). I would recommend them for any lover of history and BDSM M/M.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I would love to see more historicalness in books. As a lover of history, bring it on. Additionally, I think society is under the misconception that every gay male wants to have sex with everyone he meets. Let’s do the relationship building for the long haul and bring back more monogamy. Not that I’m saying it’s not there, but I’m a sucker for the slow build, with an HEA as opposed to insta-love.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Read everything that you can get your hands on. Get yourself into some social networking groups where you can meet people and get your blog out there. Start by reviewing books that you have read and love so that others can see your style of writing. Once you do that, you’d be surprised at the amount of requests you’ll get.

And NEVER give up!

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

