Interview With Review Blog Owner DarienMoya

jenDarienMoya is the blog owner of review site Pants Off Reviews. His blog features a lot of sexy m/m books I’m pretty many of you will love. If you’re looking for a resource that has a lot of excellent quality reviews and is maintained by a passionate team, I suggest you check his blog!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I’m the owner of Pants Off Reviews (Can I say owner?). An LGBT blogging/review site that has been running over 3yrs now (while not so active for this past year). You can check it out at pantsoffreviews.blogspot.com

About me…well I’m pretty fun for all of you who know me. I’m chill all the time, obsessed with fandom, pretty Asian boys, and I very much speak my mind all the damn time.

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I’d been reviewing books for a long time M/F books mostly. After having my second son and I was just itching for something new. I discovered Yaoi and it was the next step to get my male on male action. Let’s just say I read Drawn Together by Z.A Maxfield and the rest was history.

I first started reviewing for a little place called Three Dollar Bill reviews while no longer running it was a great place for honest reviews. Pants Off came a bit later but it all started with Rory and Yamane then I read Jet Mykles and I was like “shit, I need a blog to fan girl on”.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I think M/M has grown so much in the past few years, as well as the community. I found my place reading M/M and consider so many authors and readers friends and I’ve never met any of them. This is what M/M has been about for me.

Also with new authors coming in and the genre expanding in content I feel like the sky is the limit. Joining the M/M community has been one of the greatest things I’ve done and I’m passionate because of the people and knowing that they touch lives and the books come from a place of love.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Unique…hmmm is Pants Off unique? I can say it’s a little bit crazy (or I’m a little bit crazy). I have no style when it comes to reviewing a book I just really share what I like, what I don’t like, and the stuff that upsets me. I guess what’s different about Pants Off Reviews is that it’s always changing. I have ideas everyday, and the focus isn’t M/M only.

Pants Off Reviews is a crazy mess and 100% fun all the time.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Success is how you view it. I guess we all want to be successful bloggers/reviewers but that was never my intention going in. I just wanted to share honest opinions on books I’ve read. For many months I had no traffic on the site but that didn’t deter me from my ultimate goal.

Patience is a big part of blogging, planning, and organizing. If you have those down, then success is very close. Just keep on trying and make it come from a place of love.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Omg! I’ve barely read this year. If you asked me what’s some of the best Fanfic I read this year I could give you an answer in drones. I did read a few though, so I can give you my top five.

1) The Magpie Lord by KJ Charles

2) Of Last Resort by Megan Derr

3) Ethan Who Loved Carter by Ryan Loveless (This book made me so Happy).

4) The Boy Next Door by Taylor Foxx (So crazy but good).

5) Straight Shooter by Heidi Belleau

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I want there to be more culturally diverse characters and by that I mean, more characters of colour. I feel like I’ve been getting the generic white on white characters and while that is totally cool, it’s not life. The readers are such a wide range of people, and as a person of colour I want to have that feeling of connection.

Also more characters with disabilities. One of the reasons why I love “Ethan Who Loved Carter” it deals with some amazing stuff and I want more of that in books. I want to read something about an Autistic character, I feel like that would be an amazing book (if done right).  It’s like they’re people too with feelings and I’m pretty sure some fall in love.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Just make sure it comes from a place of fun and love. This gig can get quite demanding and you have to make sure that it’s always fun. Because then it can start feeling like some exhausting work and in no time it’ll be pissing you off and you’ll start wondering why you’re doing it. Don’t feel pressured and do things at your own pace. It’s not a competition and authors are just really appreciative for what you do.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

