Interview With Twinsie Jen From The from Twinsie Talk Book Review

jenAlong with her fabulous team, Jen blogs and promotes independent authors she loves and admires. Not only that, her blog features personalized and honest book reviews. If you’re looking for a fun filled resource packed with so much value, I strongly suggest you check out her blog. I assure you, you’ll enjoy it. 😉

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

You can visit our blog at TwinsieTalk.com. Our blog reviews all genre and we try to read everything. I am the main M/M reviewer for our blog because it is my favorite genre. It’s what I read the most.

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I actually never really wrote reviews until one day I had read this awesome book by Kindle Alexander Texas Pride that was recommended to me by a friend. This friend told me since I really liked the book that it would help the author with rankings and such if I just wrote a few words on Amazon. I did and just started doing it with all the books I liked. About a year ago Twinsie Brenda from Twinsie Talk asked me if I would be interested in reviewing for them and that I could basically review anything I wanted to. So I just jumped into it and still barely know how to actually post one. Just ask the other Twinsies…I’m not the best computer skills.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

That really has to do with my gay son. When he came out to me, I had all these questions about everything… from sex… to what it was like to have to struggle with your self identity. I didn’t know a thing except that I was going to support him in everything he did like a mother should. So I decided I could get a little knowledge by reading in this amazing genre. I know its fiction but it did help with lots of questions. Then I heard reviewing books really helps the authors so I started reaching out to them and supporting all of their hard work and effort.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Twinsie Talk Book Reviews not only supports all genres but we promote every review we post. We love the authors we review and most of those authors have become our friends as well. We are always doing different events to promote the genres we read. We even hosted our first ever M/M March Madness event this past year. It was a huge hit, we featured an author or blogger everyday for the entire month. We did giveaways throughout the month and we are looking forward to next year’s event.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

If just one of my reviews gets one person to buy the book then that’s success. It helps the author and encourages me to continue to blog and review. I know that’s pretty basic but to me that’s what blogging is all about.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

OMG-what a tough question!!

My favorite books so far this year are:

Always by Kindle Alexander. It is just an epic love story and who doesn’t love that!

Make You Mine by Ann Lister. It’s the third book in her Rock Gods series and Cooper just melts me!!

Dirty Deeds by SE Jakes. OMG Mal and Cillian-SEXY!

Us Three by Mia Kerick. It’s a YA M/M/M that tackles bullying, such a powerful message.

The Broken Series by Kol Anderson. It’s very dark and not for everyone but if you like the dark read these.

Those are in no particular order and I have so many more..just sayin!!

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I think that if you look hard enough you can find a book in this genre that will tackle anything you can imagine you just might have never heard of the author. I personally like to read everything in this genre from the dark dark, BDSM, romance and love. What I want in a m/m book is a story that takes the reader through every emotion and makes me feel like… that is happening to me while I’m reading it. If I get that when I read I’m satisfied.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Just jump into it. You don’t have to be a great writer just put how the book made you feel onto paper and go for it. If you come across a book you don’t particularly care for don’t bash the author all over the place. Always remember that it’s someone’s hard work.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

