Interview With Blog Founder And Reviewer Jen Twimom

TWITA-Button

Today, I’m excited to interview blog founder and reviewer Jen Twimom from “That’s What I’m Talking About.” Her blog has been around for quite some time and it features a lot valuable reviews on different genres. She also has a list of her favorites! If you’re looking for reviews on books you’re considering reading, I highly recommend you check her blog!

Tell us about you and your blog. Where can we read it?

My blog, That’s What I’m Talking About, can be found at http://twimom227.com/. We review a variety of titles from romance to fantasy. We primarily review all different types of romance – paranormal, contemporary, suspense, lbgtq, erotica – and urban fantasy. I started my blog in 2010 as a place just to talk about the stuff I was doing, books I was reading, etc. It turned into a book review blog after a short while when I got a lot of positive feedback on some of my posts that were review-orientated. I have a team of six wonderful friends that help me with the reviews. Team member B. reads and writes most of the m/m reviews on our blog.

What got you started as a blogger or reviewer?

I started my blog in 2010 because it seemed like the thing to do back then. Honestly, I had been on Twitter for about a year, and so many of my tweeps had blogs or were starting them, so I decided to give it a go. As I mentioned above, I didn’t intend on being a review blog because “I didn’t write reviews.” However, after a few posts about books, I was told by several people, “You write good reviews.” And so I started down that path.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing books?

I love reading because it allows me to escape reality. I enjoy different genres, as long as it has a good story. However, I don’t like drama-filled contemporary books or literature without a “happy ending,” because the real world is hard enough, why add to that? I enjoy m/m specifically because it’s usually filled with sexy men doing sexy things… what’s not to love about that?!

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

My blog is different primarily because we don’t focus on only m/m.  With seven women writing reviews, we are able to cover several different types of books. This way, we can offer a variety of opinions, review styles, and genres, giving readers what they want, but exposing them to things they may not have read otherwise.

With respect to our m/m reviews, we include a wide range of m/m topics from contemporary to steampunk, including BDSM, as well as multiple partner stories, and more.

Define success as a blogger and reviewer.

I look at blogging and reviewing as a personal passion. Early on, I struggled with numbers and views (blog statistics); however, I have come to realize that I blog and review because I love it. I love reading and sharing my thoughts about books. I love discussing books. So I do it out of love, and success is measured by my enjoyment. I do love receiving comments and having a dialogue with other readers, but I don’t look to reach a specific number to make my blog a success. Every time someone tells me they love my blog or read my reviews – that is a win!

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

For me, hands down it’s the Hell or High Water series by S.E. Jakes. OMG – I devoured the series in a matter of days. I cannot wait for the (final?) book to come out. B. says that her favorite books have been Ball & Chain by Abigail Roux, Daylight Again by SE Jakes, and Prosperity by Alexis Hall.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

Personally, I would love more paranormal m/m romance and urban fantasy, since that is my first love to read.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

My advice for any reviewer is to be honest when writing your reviews. You don’t owe anyone anything except your genuine, truthful thoughts. Personally, I like to pick books I think I will enjoy – who wants to spend time reading something you aren’t going to like? I also always try to list at least one positive thing about a book, even if it’s not my favorite. I strive to justify a rating, so if I give it an A, there will be mostly positive attributes. If I give it a “C” there will be both positive and negative statements about the book. Regardless of how you write a review, as long as it’s your sincere opinion, you are heading down the right path.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview With Blog Founder And Reviewer Jen Twimom

Leave a Reply

