Interview With Blogger And Reviewer Jody Faltys

Capture

Today, I enjoyed interviewing blogger and reviewer Jody Faltys. Her blog features different book reviews, TV shows, movies and other things she loves. She reviews m/m books as well as other different genres. If you’re looking for a blog with a unique mix of content, I recommend you check out her blog!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I’m a single gal in my 40’s who became a quadriplegic when I was four years old due to a farming accident.  I’m extremely politically active in disability rights and have been on many picket lines and spoken in front of Senators at the State Capital.  In my quiet time I have a cat who rules the roost and am obsessed with the tv shows Supernatural (Dean Winchester is how I picture many of my book boyfriends), Arrow (Stephen Amell’s abs could have their own show), The Flash, Doctor Who, The Walking Dead (Daryl Dixon makes many guest appearances in my dreams), Sleepy Hollow (Ichabod Crane has never looked so sexy before) and Big Bang Theory.  My blog (Words of Wisdom from The Scarf Princess) isn’t entirely devoted to gay romances…more like 40%.  The rest of my reviews are hetero romances with a few movie/tv shows thrown in when they become my latest obsession.  It can be found at http://wowfromthescarfprincess.blogspot.com, Twitter handle is @jone402 and Facebook is http://www.facebook.com/scarfprincess

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I started my blog almost four years ago on a super snowy December day when I was trapped at home with no one to talk to.  I realized how lonely it is when you can’t express yourself which compelled me to start a blog.  The start-up of Riptide Publishing gave me an even bigger push as they’re a wonderful company with amazing authors very devoted to their fans.  I got in with them from day one as a blog very keen on getting the word out about their quality books which gave me an even bigger pool of gay romances to read/review.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I enjoy seeing men not afraid to show their emotional sides while still being strong.  And quite frankly all that extra testosterone is compelling and HOT!  LOL!  I’m drawn to the issues they deal with that are specific to their culture as well as issues that all of us deal with.  I’ve especially enjoyed watching the genre evolve from niche to mainstream in the blink of an eye.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?  –What sets me apart is the volume of reviews I post considering it’s just me running the show.  I was an English major in college and my reviews reflect that as I try to be in-depth, very anal-retentive in proofreading, and show both the good and the bad.  I don’t shy away from the bad but I am respectful when discussing it.  My reviews almost take on a theme paper vibe.  LOL!  I also LOVE authors and how they put themselves out there for critique so I have many of them stopping by….some famous and some just starting out.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

The obvious answer would be seeing the number of visitors grow, but I also hope that when an author wants to discuss their new book release they’ll think of me.  Being around this long I’ve been lucky enough to have a number of authors make return visits and I hope that number grows.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Now this is just a list of the books I found to be my faves…..Spencer by JP Barnaby, Hostile Ground by LA Witt, Sweetwater by Lisa Henry, Two to Tango by Nicola Cameron, A Taste for Poison by Aleksandr Voinov, and Forever Man by AJ DeWall.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I’m drawn to themes of disability (as I’m a quadriplegic myself) and how this affects life and love, especially for men when they’re no longer seen as virile.  I’m also obsessed with the gritty world of MCs and the mafia as I find the juxtaposition of these characters being portrayed as good/bad intriguing.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

The only thing I can say is read what you love and write about it in a way that invites conversation.  Be open-minded and try reading in genres you don’t normally read as you’ll sometimes find a gem and discover a genre that might become a favorite.  For me, the NA genre has become an obsession with its emotional rollercoaster ride to HEAs found in each book.  Also, never be overly cruel when criticizing a book, but don’t sugarcoat the negatives either….walk that fine line.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

 

 

Leave a Reply

