Interview With Blogger MC Manalo

mc corner4I’m glad to interview today young and enthusiastic blogger MC Manalo. In his blog, he features his favorite M/M books and his reviews. At such a young age, he’s able to develop the love for reading different LGBT books. If you’re looking to connect with a person who shares your love for the M/ M genre, I highly recommend you check his blog and drop him an email.

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?
I named it MC’s Corner.
It basically adding all my notes I wrote when I was reading the book.
I use bullet points. I ‘talk’ about my favorite scenes, describing my whole experience reading the book and sometimes I describe the main & my favorite characters. AND (I forgot) sometimes–well most of the time–I use it to beg authors to write more books for the series, you know?  Like novellas or spinoffs. (Yes! One author emailed me one day and she said she read my review and she gave me the copy of the novella she wrote, it’s not yet published that time.)

I review almost all genres. It’s not all m/m I review YA, NA and Adult books too expect Thrillers and Mystery.

I post ALL my reviews on my goodreads account. (goodreads.com/gleekidMC)
I used to post my reviews on mcmanalo.blogspot.com but because of the storms and everything that came in Philippines it was hard to get a signal so… I stuck on goodreads.

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

As a reviewer? I don’t know… it just happened?
At first I just put some comments after I finished reading the book and I saw a site where they provide ARCs for reviewers. I requested some books and they got approved. Tada!

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?
Well… that is easy. I am gay and I like the reading a story of two guys falling in love/lust. wink

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Hmm… that’s hard.
I don’t usually read other reviewers’ reviews because sometimes they are so good and then when I see mine and it was so short and… not that good it makes me… eye roll
What makes my review unique?
It’s quick, a very short one because it’s easy to read.
My reviews are me talking not writing because I love talking.
I add some humor ‘cause I am a guy with a lot of sense of humor. Wahaha.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.
You’ll feel successful when some reader likes your review and when they write some positive comments like saying they were encouraged to read the book I reviewed.  It was like I helped the author and then you saw the book on the bestsellers list. It was the best feeling and I just want to write more reviews. (I know that is weird. :P)

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?
M/M literature got a lot of good ones this year.
These are the books that came into my mind:

Always by Kindle Alexander
It’s a beautiful story, it made me cry. You can feel the angst and the very strong love that the characters shared.
A story of two lovers till death drew them apart, or not.

Guardian by Alex London
Book number 2 of Proxy series.
I am very impressed with this book. It’s like introducing a gay protagonist on YA world while saying, ‘We deserve this spot.’ A book without two guys having a bed scene or something like that but it is still a m/m book. (I hope you got what I meant)
I think Proxy surpassed The Hunger Games & Divergent Series in terms of Dystopia.

Beneath the Stain by Amy Lane
This one is just recently. It’s a serial divided into 7 parts. (I wish there’s a continuation. crossed fingers)
I think the serial idea is genius and short time waiting after the first one is published.
What I love about this book/serial is that it’s how the combination of a very good story and eroticism complimented one another. It like mixing two fruits and when you taste it was so good and you know/taste what fruits were used.

Full Circle by Riley Hart
Book number 2 of Broken Pieces Series.
Just look at the cover and you got your answer and then click buy and read it. It was so good!

Sweetwater by Lisa Henry
It’s a historical one. It’s a story of an orphan boy, who is partially deaf. And there’s a cowboy who wants to save him…
I have a thing for m/m historical fiction.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?
Thing I don’t see? None? I think m/m literature reached the same level as any other non-m/m book.
But I would like to see more paperbacks; I think a huge percentage of m/m books were sold digitally.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?
Just read and read and read! And don’t be afraid to use dictionaries and thesaurus.
If you don’t think you can’t write a review because you’re not good at English. English is not my first language–it’s my third–and I admit I am not that good at it too, so don’t feel down if you wrote a sentence with a wrong grammar and somebody saw it. We learn from our own mistakes.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

