Interview With Fiction Vixen Reviewers Angela And Jen

FV-BT-Header01 copyToday, I’ll be interviewing Fiction Vixen Book Reviews Angela and Jen. Along with their fantastic team, they feature reviews of romance and urban fantasy books. Not only that, they offer giveaways, post interviews, and more! If you’re looking for a professionally maintained site full of unique content, I highly recommend you check their blog out!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

Angela: Fiction Vixen is a romance and urban fantasy review blog. We review ALL types of romance. We don’t discriminate. There is something for everyone. Jen and I (along with our other review partners) love m/m romance and frequently email and text back and forth when we find something new that we think the other will enjoy. Take the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux, I badgered her until she finally gave in and gave it a try. Then she became obsessed.

Jen: Yes, she badgered me.  Between Angela and other FV reviewers Amy and Samantha, they wore me down until I tried Abigail Roux.  Two books in and I was officially hooked on m/m romance.

You can find us at www.fictionvixen.com

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

Angela: I started reviewing for FV in 2012. I wasn’t asked to review just  urban fantasy or contemporary romance or m/m romance. Just to read books and give an honest opinion of what worked for me and what didn’t. I started reviewing m/m romance because it’s something I love and the genre has some of my absolute favorite series.

Jen: I started with FV in 2011 and my reading tastes were not very broad.  I quickly realized that I was limiting myself and started to branch out.  As we mentioned above it wasn’t until Angela came along that I tried the m/m subgenre.  That means I am fairly new to the category and haven’t read near as many author or types of stories as I have liked.  Yet.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Angela: I’m passionate about books. I love words. I love stories. Fantasy, contemporary, suspense, steampunk… any and all genres. I’m always willing to step out of my comfort zone and try something new. M/M books have a different dynamic than m/f romance. To me at least.  There is just something about two men falling in love and making it work that appeals to me.

Jen:  Angela stole my thoughts on this one.  I love to read.  I was that kid who read the cereal box at breakfast.  At first, I was passionate about m/m because it was a whole shiny new world opened up to me.  Where should I start?  Who are the favorite authors?  How are m/m different or similar to m/f books?  It has all been brand new to me and I love to talk about it.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

Angela: Sophia has created a wonderful romance blog that welcomes readers, gives them honest opinions and hopefully helps them make choices about what they would like to read next.

Jen:  Though Angela and I have similar tastes when it comes to genres and authors we each (along with our other reviewers) have specific tastes within those genres.  For instances, I’m not ashamed to admit and you really only need to call up my reviews, but I adore BDSM books.  There is something about them that calls to me.  Angela is very much into MC romance.  So though we both love m/m romance, we cover a very eclectic mix of topics between us.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Angela: When I find a good book I want to shout it out and get as many people as I can to read it. My hope is that I’ve introduced readers of our blog to new authors and inspired them enough to maybe try a romance that they might have otherwise overlooked. Success for me is when someone comments or tweets that they are so happy they read my review and decided to go ahead and one-click.

Jen:  Expressing my opinion in a way that is concise and allows the reader to take what they want from it, defines a successful review/er, in my mind.  Someone could look at a review where I state things I didn’t like and realize those are the very things they do like.  That is still success, for me.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Angela: Wow. You have time for the list? Lol. Ok, just to name a few:

Try and Take by Ella Frank

The Cole McGinnis series and the Sinners series by Rhys Ford

The Understatement of the Year by Sarina Bowen

Double Up by Vanessa North

Some of my favorite authors would be Amy Lane, Ava March and Josh Lanyon.

Jen:

Try and Take by Ella Frank

The Backup Boyfriend by River Jaymes

Rough Canvas by Joey W. Hill

Favorite authors- Mary Calmes, Josh Lanyon, K.J. Charles

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

Angela: That’s a hard one. I’m not sure really. I guess I would like to see more steampunk, urban fantasy romance. As long as it’s real and believable it will work for me.

Jen:  M/M romance with bi sexual characters

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Angela: Just be honest in your review about what works for you and what doesn’t. No two readers enjoy the same thing and reviewing is a very personal endeavor.

Jen: Read them all.  You don’t know what you like until you’ve read one of everything.  And yes, be honest.  Above all, just explain why YOU loved, hated or felt indifferent about the book.  Reviewing is all about how you felt about the book.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

