Interview With M/M Book Reviewer Lisa T

bloggerheader2014I’m happy to interview today Gay Romance Blogger and Reviewer Lisa T. Her blog, Attention Is Arbitrary, is a M/M site that features her reviews and thoughts of books of the said genre. She also offers beta reading and editing services here. If you’re looking for a M/M blog that features a good mix of the blog owner’s fun personality and reviews, I highly recommend you check hers out!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

Hi, I’m Lisa T, or Lisa Arbitrary. Thanks, Jamie, for inviting me to your blog. Let’s see, I’m a mom, a wife and an artist. I’m too old to read about hot, young boys, but I’m going to do it anyways. And I get so into these reads that I just have to share my thoughts and passions with whoever will listen.

You can find my blog, Attention Is Arbitrary, at attentionisarbitrary.com. It is mainly a review blog for M/M romance, but it’s my blog and I bend the rules now and then 😉

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

Like so many others, I came to M/M via PNR and fanfic and also J. R. Ward’s BDB books (I knew there had to be more).The rather simplistic reason for starting my blog was to merely have a backup place for my GR reviews. But it’s morphed into much more, the byproduct being great friendships, personal causes and new ventures.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Passion is a good word, and at first, that’s really what it was all about. My excitement for the smexy overwhelmed me. That passion has morphed, as I mentioned above, into something bigger. My understanding of human nature and relationships has developed. And my appreciation for emerging and established authors who are pigeonholed into this small corner of the literary world has energized me to bring it and them more attention.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I think the main difference is that my blog is just me. Hence, I don’t review a ton of books and I let myself take time with my reads. I read what I want, but I do stretch my boundaries. Also, if I really connect with an author, you’re probably going to know about it. I’ll voraciously read everything they write and really the spread the word.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Oh boy. For me, success is just being connected with this community. I love these people because so often their views align with my own. You have no idea how much I love seeing the growth of the community and genre and the recognition these deserving writers are getting. If I have anything to do with that, I’m successful.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Summer Symphony by Brandon Shire – Brilliantly written contemporary literature.

The Disassembled Life of Duncan Cole by S. Hart – Snarky, Steamy, Steampunk.

If at First You Don’t Succeed by K. C. Faelan – Free, LHNB written from my prompt. Too much fun for words.

Dirty Deeds by S. E. Jakes – Romantic suspense with arguably the hottest, most broken guys around.

Les Recidivists by Nicole Castle – Depraved. Immoral. Decadent. Obscene. And totally my thing.

Sorry, have I added too much? I could go on. Really. J

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I can never get enough sci-fi in M/M.

More diversity—more ethnicities.

More humor.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Have fun with your blog. It’ll end up being a lot of work, and if you don’t love it and make it your own, then it won’t serve you, your readers or the authors well. More than anything, be honest in your reviews. Integrity is everything.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview With M/M Book Reviewer Lisa T

  1. Very nice interview, Lisa. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. And BTW, no, mentioning the books that you have so far appreciated is Never Too Much! I haven’t read any of the ones you posted but will take a peek at GR for their blurbs.
    Thanks!
    Zeoanne

Leave a Reply

