Interview With Reviewer And Blogger Denise Alicea

Capture

Reviewer and blog owner Denise Alicea has been running The Pen and Muse Book Reviews site for a long time. She features high quality reviews of different romance books, interviews, guest posts, and more. If you’re looking for the best romance reads out there, I recommend you check her blog out!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

My book review blog is The Pen and Muse Book Reviews, I’ve been running it for over 7 years. I accept many types of romance genres. You can read it at http://thepenmuse.net

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

I believe as a reviewer, you need to open yourself up to many different genres. I also love reading all types of books.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I’m passionate about reading books in general. For me personally it’s a great escape to be able to read something and get away from the everyday work flow that I do. As an author, promoting others is another passion of ours. There is no need for writing to be a lonely path, it should be about community.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

M/M is not the only genre I read, so you can find tons of different types of book genres, guest posts, author interviews, and writing tips.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

I think just being a blogger/reviewer is about helping people. Success is sharing that knowledge and happiness to others.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Wow, I haven’t read any in a while. Been very busy at the moment with so many things including a business I’ve started, so I’m always open to suggestions to add to my TBR pile. 🙂

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

At the moment, I don’t think I can say. There is a ton of a variety out there.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

For writers in general, be creative, always study up your craft as it’s on going process. Share with a community of other writers. Bloggers, be open to reading other genre’s and know what you are getting into. Blogging is like a second job that you have to put a lot of love and care into it.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

