Interview With Reviewer Marissa

WP_20140717_19_31_13_Pro

Today, I’ll be interviewing no other than professional reviewer Marissa from the Romancing The Book. She is a voracious reader and loves reading and reviewing gay romance books. For comprehensive reviews on different genres aside from gay romance, I highly recommend you check the blog she’s representing, meet the rest of the team and enjoy checking out author interviews, contests, and more!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I’m just your typical book nerd. I’ve always been passionate about reading and thanks to apps on my cell phone, I always have a book on hand. I can read anywhere – on the bus, in grocery store lines, at lunch – whenever I have five minutes to spare. My personal library boasts at least 500 books, but I lost count years ago. I’ve been reviewing at Romancing the Book (http://romancing-the-book.com/) for almost three years now.

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

My first m/m romance was picked up sort of by accident. I thought it was just a humorous book that happened to be about a gay man. It was, but when the romance started, it just melted my heart. It seemed so much more romantic than the usual m/f romance novels I’d been reading. And from there I searched out more books and found some of the best romance authors I’ve ever read. When I started reviewing, it was natural I would choose a m/m romance over a m/f if given a choice.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

As I said above, they seem so much more romantic. I’m not sure why – there are wonderful writers in every genre so it’s not simply that the writing is better. Maybe it’s the ‘forbidden’ angle, maybe it’s because it’s something I don’t relate to in my own life. Whatever the reason, I look forward to every m/m romance I pick up.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

At Romancing the Book, we review all books which gives the reader a variety of genres from which to choose. My preference for reviews are m/m romance, suspense and mystery, and humor. Each reviewer has a favorite genre or two and givers her own spin on a review. To top it off, our wonderful Blogger Goddess, Jen, gives us a say in the look of the blog and special events and postings. standing ovation for Jen

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

I’m sure all reviewers will write this but I like to think that my reviews help people decide if a book might be right for them. If one person picks up a book because my review says it’s worth reading, then my review was worth writing.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Sweetwater by Lisa Henry really surprised me. I’m not much into westerns but Sweetwater was so touching and the main character endearing that I was drawn in completely. The Quick by Lauren Owen was a turn-of-the-century take on vampires that I found fascinating. Anything by Anne Tenino, Josh Lanyan, Ava March, Neil Plakcy and countless others will always attract my attention.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

This is a hard question to answer. Over the last few years, m/m romance has heated up and the market has exploded. You can find m/m in every genre now – mystery, sci-fi, young adult – not just erotica. I would just say, “Keep the romance coming”.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Just give an honest review. Sometimes it’s hard if you have an author you admire who writes a less than stellar book or if a book is just really bad. Other times, you can’t stop gushing about how wonderful the characters are. Either way, you have to break it down and be truthful (without being cruel, in the case of a bad book).

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

