Interview With The Jeep Diva Blog Owner Vanessa Romano

Capture

I’m proud to interview today The Jeep Diva Reviewer Vanessa Romano. Her blog features reviews of all types of romance books and giveaways. If you’re looking for a site where you can check out different romance books, I recommend you visit hers!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I am Vanessa the Jeep Driving Diva behind The Jeep Diva. http://www.thejeepdiva.com/

It’s not really a gay romance blog. We love all things romantic and review the whole romance genre

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

My review blog began after I attended a blogger panel at Readers N Rita’s 2010.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

I like the unknown. As a married (to a human) heterosexual female I know that romance. Add in a paranormal being, or same sex lovers, there is an element of unknown. That unknown adds to the escape I seek out in books.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I believe the fact that we review all romances adds to The Jeep Diva’s uniqueness. The heat level ranges from sweet to the dark erotic. When it comes to partners we’ll read humans, paranormals, multiple partners, ménage, same sex, all of it. We aren’t picky. As long as everyone gets their happily for now or happily ever after we are happy Diva’s.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

I’ve defined my success several different ways over the past few years. The first request for review I received from an author had me jumping up and down. Receiving a request from a publisher (small or big) is always a big pat on the back. I did a happy dance the first time I was auto-approved on NetGalley for a publisher. That was a huge accomplishment for me. The gals that review with me LOVE finding a snippet of their review on the back cover of a book. I’ve had several authors mention my blog or myself in the acknowledgements of a book. Every one of those things makes me feel like I have reached various levels of success as a blogger.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Anything from Daisy Harris, I’ve read several of hers this year. The Heavenly Sins series from L.M. Brown was extremely HOT. The Truth About Riley by Henrietta Clarke. I cannot wait to get the sequel to that one in my hands. Campus Cravings is hands down the best boxed set I’ve ever read. There is a ton of amazing stuff out there for readers right now.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

Probably paranormal. I’m a huge paranormal romance addict. I’ve noticed I read more humans in my m/m romance than I do other beings. I’m sure it’s just what I’m buying and if I did more searching I’d find plenty of them.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Be honest in your reviews, but do it with tact and always keep it professional. Be specific about whatever didn’t work for you. What doesn’t work for one reader may be that element that another reader is looking to find in their next read.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

