Interview With M/M Blogger And Reviewer Adrienne

adrienne- JL

I have the great pleasure of interviewing today MM blogger and reviewer Adrienne from ScuttlebuttReviews. I find their blog one of the best resources of LGBT materials. Along with her awesome team, Adrienne features book reviews, guest posts, tours, and more! If you’re looking for a wonderful blog updated constantly with a lot of interesting posts, I highly recommend you check hers!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I’m Adrienne, and I run ScuttlebuttReviews (scuttlebuttreviews.com), though it’s really more of a collective than “mine”. Lord knows I’d never get anything accomplished if the other people involved weren’t on board.

We participate in book tours and share reviews, author introductions, and guest posts for books that fall anywhere within the LGBTQ spectrum.

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

If we’re going for honesty, I have no idea. I remember being all fired up over a book I read and writing something about it, but I don’t remember where exactly I posted about it. I’m sure it was some social media platform like GR or FB.

I’m a bit opinionated, so whenever I read something that poked at me, good or bad, I’d share my thoughts.

A couple years ago, somebody from another site contacted me and asked if I’d review for them. I did that for a bit, took a break, then had a spark of motivation and started ScuttlebuttReviews.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Because errors irritate the hell out of me and I hope to shame authors and publishers into perfection.That’s a joke.

Really, it’s because I think the authors in the genre deserve attention. There are some really great writers that are ignored by the mainstream (read: hetero romance) simply because thebooks featurequeer characters.

Sure, the gay/lesbian/bi/trans bit is usually addressed(at least as a subplot), but often the characters’ sexuality is not the main subject. When it is, it’s generally for a reason bigger than sex. People outside the genre seem to miss that and focus on the characters’ sexuality.

It’d be pretty awesome to receive an email stating, “Hey, y’all! I read your review, thought the book seemed interesting despite it being outside my comfort zone, bought it, and loved the writing so much the author is now an auto-buy.”

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I had to come back to this question about three times. I suppose it’s mostly that we review books we actually want to review. We do accept requests, but I never ask a reviewer to read something outside what they think they’d enjoy because that doesn’t do anything for anybody. If none of the reviewersthink they’dget anything out of a particular book, I won’t accept the book just to “be nice”.

On the other hand, even if we don’t want to read something, I’m totally fine with guest posts about the book because the author still deserves a chance to get their work out there. (Cover My Ass Disclaimer: Guest posts on the site that are not accompanied by a review were not necessarily books we passed on. Sometimes we’re just asked for a guest spot.)

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Success? I suppose when one breaks one’s website and receives emailsfrom subscribers asking when it’ll be fixed.

cough

Not that I’ve ever broken our website. Certainly not for over a month.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

I recently finished Eden Winters’ A Matter of When and loved it. Jordan Castillo Price’s Meatworks.Zathyn Priest’s Amara: The Rebirth. Jordan L Hawke, Megan Derr, Adrienne Wilder (different Adrienne, I swear),and BA Tortuga are auto-buys, and all have released a couple books this year.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

Editing. I am obnoxiously persnickety about being poor word choice (or blatantly wrong words) thatsnaps me out of the story.

I know, I know. Authors hate nitpicking about editing. But really? Readers buy the whole package. Editing matters. So do terrible covers.

There are some authors I tend to give a pass to for this, because theirstorytelling surpasses any minor flubs. Not many, mind you, but some.

I’m totally going to get hate mail for this answer, aren’t I?

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Post reviews on social media sites and contact existing sites to see if they’ll post your reviews. Be constructive and offer criticism with a positive purpose; don’t be an ass just because you can.Base reviews off the book, not your relationship with the author.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

