Interview With M/M Reviewer And Blogger Mare

slitreads

I’ve never met a reviewer who’s so passionate with the M/M genre than Mare from Slitsread. She works together with 3 other awesome reviewers and she’s the one who specializes in M/M reviews. If you’re looking for a blog that features high quality reviews on different genres and would like to check out the M/M reviews of Mare, I highly recommend you check it! I visited it and love it! I know you’ll do the same!

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

Well we have a few different avenues. However I just have to make clear that Slitsread reviews all genres. We have 4 girls that read and review. Only 2 of us read m/m books. Silvana will read any genre, she’s amazing like that, where as in I will only read m/m with very few other genres in there. I must love your work in order to read it 🙂

You can reach us on:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/slitsread

Twitter: @slitsread

Web: www.slitsread.com

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

We needed an outlet to talk about books. Rant, rave, let our feelings out. Goodreads is a great forum but we wanted to branch out and hit more people with the good feelz.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Because I love it so much. Each book brings something different. I’m most passionate when it comes to books that make me Feel and cry and get angry. Books that wrap around the core of me. And I review it because I believe everyone should also feel this way LOL. Even though I am completely aware that no 2 people read 1 book the same. Reviewing books is an outlet for me to explain all those feelings in one place.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

You could say we are different because we don’t only review m/m books but I don’t think we are different then anyone. Most bloggers/blogs all do the same thing. Talk about books they love and hope that others will enjoy as well.

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

When you rec a book and the person reading it loves it just as much as you or more. Getting to know the authors behind the pen or keyboard keys as such.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

Oh man!!!!!! This is a major put me on the spot lol! Are you sure you are ready for this list?

Fallocaust 1&2 and Breaking Jade by Quil Carter

BOATK by TJ Klune. All 3 books

When All the World Sleeps by Lisa Henry and JA Rock

Meatworks by Jordan Castillo Price. Actually JCP is a new read for me in 2014. So I have to say all of her work!

Stories Beneath Our Skin by Veronica Sloane

LTG series by SE Jakes.

There are many many more. I also have my go to re-reads that I read often.

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

More angst lol

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Have fun!!! Have tact. If you didn’t like the book there are ways to go around saying it tactfully and nicely.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

2 thoughts on “Interview With M/M Reviewer And Blogger Mare

Leave a Reply

