Interview With M/M Reviewer Thommie

unnamed

I have the great pleasure of interviewing today M/M Reviewer Thommie! Along with her fantastic review team, her blog features M/M reviews, free books, interviews, and so much more. If you’re looking for comprehensive reviews on M/M book or love the genre, I highly you check out her blog! 

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

MM Good Book Reviews http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com/ is the reviewing site I write for. It is a site for readers, writers, and publishers of the genre. Our reviewing team consist of people who love a bit of man-love in their life and each and everyone of us tries to write as honest a review without being obnoxious and/or rude in the way share our opinion. 

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

Two plus years ago I was approached from one of my favorite people in the planet Portia de Moncur. Back then Portia was the owner of MM Good Book Reviews and with the help of Pixie was trying to form a strong reviewing team who loved reading m/m romance and were honest in their “viewing” of each book they read. So just like that I was absorbed into their group and am now a proud member of MM Good Book Reviews team. Ever since then things have changed; Pixie has been promoted to co-owner, and our team has gained the strong core we always dreamed of, and what can I say, we read our beloved books and share our opinion for them with the rest of the people who care.  

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

Oh dear! It was a very lousy period of my life when I first stumbled into the m/m genre. I think I had reached rock bottom and everything looked like a dead-end to me. First time I read an m/m book, it was “Soldiers” from Voinov’s “Special Forces” I fell in love with the writing and the incredible force with which Voinov drags you into his story’s depths. In addition I realized that I wasn’t shocked or repulsed by two men loving/hating/indulging each other, on the contrary it felt from natural (a matter of course) to utterly erotic. This genre managed to make me smile and see different things. Made think that my own life isn’t so bleak and hard in comparison to others’s life and that of even children. Literally reading homoerotic literature change my viewing of the world. No wonder I’m passionate about it.

As for reviewing, it’s a simple thank you to my beloved Portia for allowing me access to so many masterpieces that I’ve found in the course of our relationship. Is a thank you to my amazing friend and book coordinator Pixie for – unknowingly perhaps to her – urging me to be a better person. Is a huge thank you to authors and publishers for providing us with the genre and more often than not quite spectacular books that blow our mind away. It’s a way to give back for the many that I’ve gained being a reader of this genre. 

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

 Unique? Despite the fact that each individual is unique thus the blog is unique as it’s consequence, I don’t know. We love the books, we love the authors, we respect the publishers. But most of all we are crazy about gaining more “fans” for the genre. We adore the homoerotic genre and feel passionate about sharing it with as many readers as we can, so we try to make it easy for them to find the books that they like to read, the sub-genres that they are into. If you could sprinkle the world with mm-loving thoughts, we would. I think that shows in our blog.

In addition we aim to provide authors and publishers with feedback. What worked, what didn’t, why not etc. For me MM GOOD BOOK REVIEWS is the site that attends to all and about everything related to the genre. 

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

Success… If even one reader finds what he’s looking for from our reviews without us spoiling the story for them, I think it’s a huge success. If even one writer gets the feedback that will help his future work no matter the rating his present work has gained, I think it’s a huge success. If even one publisher thinks that we’re treating their books with the required responsibility and care while giving them the advertising and promotion they seek, I think that amounts to success. I don’t know, but isn’t that our purpose..? 

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

I have been a bit low this year with real life intruding rudely into my reading time, but I managed to read some interesting books when I found some time. Augusta Li’s Blessed Epoch series has blown my mind away with that incredible fantasy world and the sizzling hot characters that simply rocked. Erotic, enticing, a heart-gripping adventure that had me read and read for hours, forgetting the real world.

Also Jackie Nacht’s Full Moon Torn – book 5 in the Moon Compound Series – was spectacular. I’m quite the fan of the series and I’m very happy to see that the quality of her work hasn’t changed as the story progress. I feel a bit heartbroken when that happens you know.

Another one that stole my breath away was McKenna’s Strength of the Mate. Yes, I do love my wolves 😉

And also I recently read Voinov’s  A Taste For Poison. Damn, this is one author who manages to make my skin crawl and shudder and shiver and heavens knows how many more emotions each and every time I read his books. Brilliant work. His books manage to challenge my boundaries every single time no matter the genre he chooses to write.

Overall there are many books that I loved reading this year, one would only have to check my reviews and find them you know as I would take forever to mention each and everyone of them 😉 

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

Oh I’m a fan of Sci-Fi. I can never say enough when it comes to that 😉 I feel the genre needs more authors and books. I also adore the Yaoi genre. Unfortunately I think the quantity of pure Yaoi translated in English is quite low, so there. More Yaoi novels pretty please. 

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Advice? Oh hell no. I’m not that conceited as to try and advice people. What I do, is try and stay true to my feelings, acknowledge and respect authors, publishers, and readers alike. But most of all, I simply let my heart and mind open and accepts that there is so much diversity out there and I’m not required to “like” everything, simply not judge according to my likes, but try to be neutral, you know. Respect it all! As long as I go with these principals I think I’ll do alright as a reviewer. 😉

One last thing; Thanks for having me in your blog Jamie and I wish you all the best and all the success and love from your readers/followers.

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

Leave a Reply

