Interview With M/M Blogger and Reviewer Gabby Lily Raines

gpp

Today’s interview is with the lovely and incomparable Gabby Lily Raines. A self proclaimed ‘inveterate book junkie’, blogger, reviewer and proofreader. With an extensive amount of reviews under her belt, she’s always on the lookout for a good book to review. I highly recommend checking out her profile and following her on Twitter.

Tell us about you and your gay romance blog. Where can we read it?

I review all sorts of different genres ­ not just gay romances ­ as I tend to read different genres depending on what I feel like reading or what sounds interesting. I’ve been a little lax about posting there, but I’m working on it.

The blog can be found at http://lilysreviews.livejournal.com That is my own blog. I can also be found on NightOwlReviews.com as Lilyraines

What got you started as a m/m blogger or reviewer?

At the time I started reviewing, I was in need of a way to supplement my book habit and was fortunate enough to review for another site. While I no longer review there, it is where I first read m/m and never looked back.

Why are you passionate about reading and reviewing m/m books?

With any genre, I always look for a good story that grabs my attention. I also like seeing well-rounded characters and not just one who are all good or all bad, etc. I think that, for me, I look for different things in different genres. M/M just has a certain, well, zing that I’ve yet to find in others.

Many of my readers love reading m/m blogs but what makes yours unique compared to others?

I don’t know as I would consider myself unique. I try (though can’t say as I always succeed) to say what works and what doesn’t work for me in a book. I don’t mind if someone disagrees with me.
After all, what would be the fun in reading if everyone liked the same things? 🙂

Define success as a m/m blogger and reviewer.

I think success is different for everyone. Overall, my first ‘yipee’ moment came when an author liked a review I wrote (and yes, it was in the m/m genre). While my own blog still has little outside traffic (near as I can tell), I consider it a big success when I received the first e­mail directly from a publisher asking if I would like to review one of their titles.

What are some of the best m/m books you’ve read this year?

That’s a bit of a tough question. While I don’t know if someone else would consider these ‘the best’, some (though not all) of my favorite reads this year are: The Adorned by John Tristan, No Flag by Liz Borino, As Natural as Breathing by Thianna D, and Stuck in Oz by Andrew Grey. I won’t even go into the re­reads. 🙂

What would you like to see more in m/m literature you don’t see now?

I’ve liked pretty much a lot of what I have seen. Part of that could be due to having a feel for what I like reading (regardless of genre) and picking those I’m pretty sure I would like reading. Another part is that I’ve a great respect for writers and their craft and I’m happy seeing their output.

What advice can you give to aspiring m/m reviewers and bloggers?

Do what you love, stick with it, and find a way to be honest with a healthy dose of tact and diplomacy if and when you come across a book/scene/etc. that might not be to your liking.

lrhfb

Jamie Lake is the author of Bad Boy: Naughty at Night and other m/m gay romance novels.

      

One thought on “Interview With M/M Blogger and Reviewer Gabby Lily Raines

Leave a Reply

