B.A. Brock on King of the Storm

 

KingoftheStormFSB.A. Brock is one of the most awesome courageous authors I know. Anyone who dares to be themselves no matter what the consequences is a hero in my book and in interview with him about his novel, King of the Storm, he talks about the strength it took in his personal  to pull together this amazing book.

What is your latest book about?

 

King of the Storm is an Epic Romantic Fantasy, which tells the story of Perseus, a reluctant demigod hero, who fights against his own destiny and fate. It’s set in a world similar to Ancient Greece, but not. There’s magic and elves, and the heroes of old are reimagined to fit this new world.

 

What makes it different than others?

 

DSP Publications publishes a wide range of LGBTQ+ fiction, and not necessarily M/M Romance. My story isn’t the classic M/M love story, and it’s a fantasy epic, an adventure tale spanning a few decades of my character’s life. Additionally, in my usual fashion, I have characters who don’t fit neatly into the normal gender or sexuality expectations.

 

You recently transitioned, why now?

 

I’d say I’m transitioning—not transitioned—but yes. Why now? I was born in a smaller city in the early 80’s, and I didn’t what trans meant until I got to college. There, I became fascinated with LGBTQ+ culture, but I never felt as if I belonged. It wasn’t until I crept deeper into my thirties, after being married six years, when I faced the fact that I never wanted to birth children… and everything fell rapidly into place. It was as if by acknowledging that, I had to recognize what I felt was useless or wrong about my body, and I became trans. I don’t mean that to sound as if I reject my body completely, or that rejecting your body is a necessary step in transitioning, but that was the beginning of my process, that shedding of my skin.

 

How has this affected the way that people close to you have treated you?

 

I believe that true love is between people who can acknowledge each other’s greatest strengths, and challenges, and still love each other. Which also means my loved ones often hurt me the worst, especially in small and careless ways. Sometimes I have patience and understanding, and sometimes I hide from the world. Again, this is just part of my process, and not necessarily everyone’s. It will get better.

 

fullresWhat did your partner say when you told him you were ready to take the next step?

 

“No. You can’t.”

I think that’s what he said. He made up all sorts of reasons why it would be impossible (cost, my family, his family). He begged me to still be “Mommy” to our pets. He was terrified, hurt, confused, and sometimes angry. He grieved. And that’s normal (please no judging).

The first open female to male my husband talked to, told him I was going to change completely, and probably by the end of my transition not love him anymore. That fear—created from those conversations—took me many months to break down and address.

During his darkest times, I would say, “I loved you when I was depressed. I loved you when I was manic. I loved you as a woman, and I’ll love you as a man.”

 

How has this approach affected your characters?

 

Being trans impacts my characters, even when I’m not trying. As part of my creative process, when I start a story, I don’t always know the gender of my characters. They sort of emerge when it’s important, but you’d be surprised how often it’s not important. In those cases I choose for them.

 

Where can we get your book?

 

DSP Publications: https://www.dsppublications.com/books/king-of-the-storm-by-b-a-brock-168-b

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/King-Storm-Godhead-Epoch-Book-ebook/dp/B016R8B2QE/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1445303370&sr=1-1&keywords=king+of+the+storm+by+B.+A.+brock

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/king-of-the-storm-b-a-brock/1122806360;jsessionid=DDFEC4ED6F172948359F60D03A8737BF.prodny_store01-va07?ean=2940150812529

A. Brock has lived most of his life in the Pacific Northwest. He graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science in 2007 at Portland State University—which he mostly uses to contemplate how we can achieve a civilization more closely aligned with Star Trek.

When not writing, Brock spends his time reading/reviewing novels, training for marathons, and bemoaning the fact that the world has yet to make a decent gluten free donut.

You can find more of his works, as well as reviews and his blog at http://www.babrockbooks.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BABrockBooks?ref=hl

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/BABrockBooks

 

King of the Storm

Blurb:

 

No one can outrun destiny or the gods.

In Epiro, a kingdom in Greece, Perseus is prophesied to be a great demigod hero and king, with a legacy that will shape the world of Gaia. When he was born, his grandfather exiled him, and his mother brought them to Seriphos, where she created an academy for demigod youth. Perseus trains there and waits for the day when he will be able to take the throne of Argos.

Despite potential future glory, Perseus’s fellow students think he is weak. By the time he reaches manhood, he has given up the hope of having any real friends, until Antolios, a son of Apollo, takes an unexpected interest in him.  Perseus and Antolios fall in love, but Antolios knows it cannot last and leaves Seriphos.

Perseus, grief-stricken and lonely, rebels against the Fates, thinking he can avoid the prophecy and live his own life.  But when the gods find him, he is thrust into an epic adventure. With his divine powers he fights gorgons, sea serpents, and other monsters, and he battles against his darker nature. Perseus strives to to be the man he wants to be, but the gods have other plans.

2 thoughts on “B.A. Brock on King of the Storm

Leave a Reply

